Glazed Lemon Supreme Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
this recipe is wonderful, i cooked it for easter, the tangy glaze makes the cake. My family loved it and asked for it agian at out family reunion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Amazing!! Be careful though, I couldn't stop eating this stuff!! My favorite lemon cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This recipe is the "bomb"! I followed the recipe exactly as written and its wonderful. If you don't know what apricot nectar is, it is an apricot puree, much thicker than plain apricot juice. It is usually found in glass bottles..Goya is one brand that I know of. Apricot juice is NOT the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I thought after reading all the nice reviews that this was the cake recipe I was looking for. Sadly it was not. I had trouble getting the cake out of the pan despite a thorough greasing. The cake was moist but had a fall apart texture,very weird. I would definately never call a cake with this texture "pound" cake. It was just like a boxed cake mix to me even with all the add-ins. The flavor was this poor "pound" cake's shining star. The glaze gave the crumbs that sweet-tart flavor I was craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This cake is fabulous! It is just the right density and the perfect balance of sweet and tart. The only change I made was using lemon pudding instead of gelatin. This recipe will definitely be in my permanent repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newport, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This cake was just ok to me. I made it exactly as the directions indicated. It did not turn out supermoist like I expected. Next time I will use lemon pudding as other users have suggested and a quarter cup of sour cream (which I normally add to all of my cakes) Sour cream ensures your cakes are moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This cake is absolutely delicious and very easy to make. My grandmother made a wonderful Lemon Supreme Cake in the 1970's and this one really brought back memories. If you like lemon flavor, you will love this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Thanks for posting, Pam. This is a very easy and delicious lemon cake. I was unable to find lemon cake mix today so I used a vanilla cake mix as a base. I only needed to bake my cake for 40 minutes (using a bundt pan). I should have used a tube pan though because when it came to pouring the syrup over, it didn't make it down the sides of the cake tin. The cake itself wasn't sweet so the syrup was the perfect contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I needed an Orange Pound cake, so I substituted all the lemon ingretients with orange; orange cake mix, orange gelatin, orange extract and orange juice. It turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice Dray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
This was delicioso, is that a word, I took to my sister-in-laws and she immediately asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Blain Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States