Glazed Lemon Supreme Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I love lemon so I could have eaten this by myself, but I made it for a baby shower where there were 4 other cakes to choose from and it was gobbled. My husband ate the remaining leftover piece the next day. I made it the day before and then put it in the fridge overnight and I think it intensifies the lemon. I don't like buying obscure ingredients so I used orange juice in place of the apricot nectar. Great texture. I also did as suggested by another reviewer and poked holes (with a skewer) around in the bottom of the cake while it was still in the bunt pan just out of the oven to pour the glaze in and then let it cool about 20 mins before removing it from the pan. Another tip for baking with bunt pans I read: instead of flouring your greased pan and having the white dust show when you take your cake out, make a paste with 1 Tbl melted butter and 1 Tbl flour and then brush it on your pan with a basting brush. Your cake will come right out and look pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDpotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This is a really good cake! Like other reviewes, I made a couple of changes...I read other reviews before baking, and some had used jello, some had used pudding. I used both. I also used fresh squeezed lemon juice instead of extract, and threw in an extra egg to make the cake a little more dense. Next time I make this--probably in a day or two, the first one won't last 24 hours!-- I'm going to use a small can of lemonade concentrate instead of the apricot nectar. It'll be over-the-top lemony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Wilmore, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Delicious! I didn't have apricot nectar so I substituted orange juice. I also used instant lemon pudding instead of lemon gelatin. A big hit with the entire family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was more like a true cake than a pound cake. The lemon taste was great and I loved the simple lemon glaze. Though my cake turned out a little dry- maybe it was my oven? But it is worth making again and will be a great cake to take to all those summer bar b ques.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Overall, a very good cake. Several comments or suggestions: I did add 1/2 cup sour cream as other reviewers had sugggested - very moist with this addition. I did not have apricot nectar, but cooked dried apricots with apple juice until soft, then pureed - worked great. My only problem - I used a Bundt pan. If this is your pan of choice, you will need to lower the oven temp a little and check it often - will be done much earlier. I burned my cake after only 40 minutes. Also, your cake will look nothing like the picture, as the glaze is just a glaze - NOT icing - so don't plan on that lovely look! However, it does taste super lemony - got good reviews at my superbowl party. I think I may make it again with a topping closer to icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alene
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Didn't change the recipe at all. This is a very good recipe. Just the right taste of lemon. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I have made this 4 or 5 times by now, substituting different flavors of cake mix/jello mix. Lemon is wonderful, but our favorite is orange. Either way, I substitute orange juice for the apricot nectar. I haven't found it at the store. I will keep looking, because this is an easy dessert to whip up. Oh, one peice of advice: poke holes on the bottom of the cake, pour HALF of the glaze on the bottom & keep the other half for the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This cake is delicious!! It was a big hit at our family holiday party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I made this for a coworkers birthday, and everyone there wanted the recipe! This is a wonderfully lemon cake. If I had 10 thumbs, I'd give it 10 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardisty, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Mine came out a little dry but my oven is wonky so who know. I made a second batch of the glaze and put it on the top/outside too for some super duper lemony-goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States