Glazed Lemon Supreme Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was an amazing recipe. I tweeked just a couple of things. I used lemon pudding instead lemon gelatin and I also added a quarter cup of sour cream to the batter. Also, I wasn't too sure about how the apricot nectar would be so I didn't use. But everything else turned out amazing. Also, for an added touch: I took some of the store bought frosting; like Betty Crocker Vanilla extra creamy, stuck in the microwave for 15 minutes. I poured the liquid frosting on top of the cake and stuck it in the freezer for 10 minutes. It was amazing. It gave you a nice thick white icing. it looked excellent and would be great for presentation purposes. Just a thought. Thanks again for a great recipe ;) Maybe next time I'll try the gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Radford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
The glaze was rather sweeter than I liked, but on the whole, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I did this recipe and it came out very light and spongy. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Georgetown, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
VERY easy and tasty (I made exactly as recipe called for)...my only dislike was the glaze. I'm not used to a glaze on the bottom (I used a fancier bundt pan, forked the cake slightly after done cooking and poured glaze on/let set a bit before tipping cake out to slice - glaze was too wet. Keeping it refrigerated helped (even froze it before serving it at an event...that worked best.) Just made it seem like dough was still a bit raw when it was just a wet glaze. Next time I will make a less sweet, white glaze and drizzle on top of the cake once it's turned over. Cake looked very pretty sliced/laid out on a plate with sliced lemons in the middle for display!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I made this recipe, with only 2 minor changes. I doubled the lemon extract, and doubled the glaze. I poked holes in the cake when it came out of the oven and poured half the glaze over it while it was still in the pan. After I inverted the cake onto a plate, I drizzled the other half of the glaze over it. I was bringing it to a birthday party, so I made it the night before. This cake did NOT disappoint! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
My daughter and I love Lemon Cake so I was happy to find this one. On my first try the cake did stick so on the 2nd one I took it out of the pan eary as suggested on another review. I also used lemon pudding and extra lemon extract as suggested by others. My family loved it. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This is my husband's favorite cake and has been for the past 45 years! He got the recipe from a college slassmate's mother and gave it to me when we married. I make it all the time and it never fails to be moist, flavorful and delicious. The nice thing about it is that the longer it sits, the better it gets. But around here, it only lasts a couple of days! If you can't find apricot nectar, peach nectar works well, too. Te only difference in my recipe is that I add 1 tablespoon of lemon extract. It's not too much. A real winner if you like lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Opps, wrong recipe.. sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I made this cake for a 4th of July potluck for work. It's pretty good but, like other reviewers, not as moist as I'd like. The only change I made to the cake recipe was the addition of about 1 Tbsp. of lemon zest to the cake batter to give it more of a 'real' lemon flavor. I have to say to be careful with the baking time - I just happened to check the cake after 45 minutes and it was DONE. I can't imagine how it would have been with the additional 15 minutes! For the glaze, I followed the directions exactly and had no issue with sticking. I do use the pan spray with flour (i.e., Baker's Secret or other brand). I did make an additional drizzle of a white glaze (same as that poured over the cake but thicker) for a more decorative look. This cake tastes fine but, again, it's not as moist as I'd like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki_In_Simi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arleta, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This recipe was o.k. I had to take it out of the oven early as it was getting over done. I thought it was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States