Glazed Lemon Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This was an excellent cake. Very moist and great texture. Mild lemony flavor in the cake. The glaze was what was really lemony about this. Best of all, this was not prepared from a cake mix but from scratch! My glaze came out grainy so maybe I should have used superfine granules? The cake itself turned out perfectly. I didn't use my mixer on this just a big bowl and wooden spoon. Everyone liked this one a lot, I got lots of compliments. Thanks for sharing this wonderful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
5 stars for the cake LOVED it!!! It was delicious, the glaze however I just couldn't make myself pour over it, it was way too wet, maybe I did something wrong, but I used "lemon glaze" instead, and the 2 went together beautifully. Thank you for this cake recipe, just what I was looking for. :) But a note to make, make sure you listen to the grease and FLOUR part, I had a new bundt pan and it said that flouring wasn't necessary --well it was for this recipe, the cake finally came out with some effort and no longer looked very pretty, but tasted excellent, just glad I wasn't serving it for guests. Lemon Glaze: 1 1/2 tb lemon juice, 1 1/2 c powdered sugar, 1 tb sugar, 3 tb melted butter, 1/2 t lemon extract, and yellow food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NC baking girl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I had to come up with a recipe that my stepdaughter could do for her home-ec class. I love to cook, and her mom asked me to assist her. She wanted to do a lemon bundt cake. The directions are simpe and very straight forward. The end product was even better. With just a little additional garnish at the end to celebrate the Christmas holiday, she got an A and I didn't get my hands dirty, and her class was rewarded with a wonderfully lemony cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hillsborough, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by P.Smith
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I've never been a big fan of desserts, but this is very good. It has just the right balance of sweet and tart, and produces a light, moist cake. I cut the recipe in half (just my wife and I), used fresh lemon juice for the lemon extract, buttermilk for the milk and baked it in a 6 inch bundt pan. I adjusted the recipe for the glaze to: 3/4 cup powdered sugar, 3 tbs. butter, 2 tbs. milk, 2 tsp. lemon juice, 1 tsp. lemon zest and 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract. Also, since I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a 6 inch bundt pan, my cake was done in 40 minutes. A wonderful cake, once you adjust the glaze. 5 stars and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This is my first review though I have used a number of the site b4. This is a really good cake but I have say, follow the exact recipe. I have now made this cake twice. The first time I tried the frosting recommended by others. USE THE ORIGAL FROSTING ON THE RECIPE. It is a lot better and so moist and lemony. It looks waterish but don’t panic just use it. With a toothpick punch holes all over the cake about 20 mins after you finish baking. Pour the original frosting over it. Do it slowly with a spoon and try and get it to stay on the cake as oppose to all just running off the side. Believe me it will be very moist and lemony. The other frosting that others recommended is good but not half as moist or lemony. Don’t let the watery effect of the mixture put you off, it works
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This was very, very moist and fluffy! I halved the recipe and put it in a loaf pan. I didn't have any lemon extract, so I used a little more than 3 tbsp. of fresh lemon juice (keep in mind this was halved). I also didn't make the glaze, so I not sure how that would have turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Great cake! I made for my bake sale at work and we sold it by the slice for the March of Dimes. I was asked to make cake by two separate people for personal consumption - for a fee of course ! YUM! I used the the zest from two lemons and used real lemon juice (to taste) instead of as directed by recipe * Ran out of time to make the glaze * will try tonite when I repeat for another bake sale this week and let you guys know! GREAT TASTE * pam spray - no flour or it will stick to pan. My 2nd one did that, but it tasted GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This cake is very delicious and refreshing. I followed the recipe as is except for adding a little bit more lemon extract to the cake batter. The glaze, while it is liquidy, is perfect for the cake. Follow the tips below about using a toothpick to prick the surface before spooning on the glaze to ensure the cake soaks it up. This glaze makes the cake incredibly moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Very delicious cake, I definitely liked it. Only change I made was to use half whole wheat flour, which worked perfectly. I do agree that the lemon flavor is very soft; next time I will try a lot of real lemon juice and see how that works. The glaze made it overall just a little too sweet for me, I might halve the ammount used next time. But, very good! I made it for mother's day and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Opaka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Really yummy. I took the cake out at 55mins and it was done. I followed the instructions to grease & flour the bundt pan beforehand, and it came out very cleanly after running a spatula around all the edges. The glaze does look very watery, so i used a pastry brush tentatively to brush some of it on at first, (after poking holes in the cake) and eventually ended up using it all. The glaze really adds that kick of lemon flavor. I did add a bit extra lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States