Glazed Lemon Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
For more lemon flavor--totally skip the milk and substitute with a cup of lemon juice. For a prettier cake--instead of greasing and flouring, grease then use sugar. It works better than flour and makes the cake prettier than dry flour baked to the surface. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
5 stars for the cake LOVED it!!! It was delicious, the glaze however I just couldn't make myself pour over it, it was way too wet, maybe I did something wrong, but I used "lemon glaze" instead, and the 2 went together beautifully. Thank you for this cake recipe, just what I was looking for. :) But a note to make, make sure you listen to the grease and FLOUR part, I had a new bundt pan and it said that flouring wasn't necessary --well it was for this recipe, the cake finally came out with some effort and no longer looked very pretty, but tasted excellent, just glad I wasn't serving it for guests. Lemon Glaze: 1 1/2 tb lemon juice, 1 1/2 c powdered sugar, 1 tb sugar, 3 tb melted butter, 1/2 t lemon extract, and yellow food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NC baking girl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This is my first review though I have used a number of the site b4. This is a really good cake but I have say, follow the exact recipe. I have now made this cake twice. The first time I tried the frosting recommended by others. USE THE ORIGAL FROSTING ON THE RECIPE. It is a lot better and so moist and lemony. It looks waterish but don’t panic just use it. With a toothpick punch holes all over the cake about 20 mins after you finish baking. Pour the original frosting over it. Do it slowly with a spoon and try and get it to stay on the cake as oppose to all just running off the side. Believe me it will be very moist and lemony. The other frosting that others recommended is good but not half as moist or lemony. Don’t let the watery effect of the mixture put you off, it works
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This tuned out so well. Following other reviewers advice, I replaced the milk and lemon extract with a cup of fresh lemon juice ( I was given a bowl full of lemons ). I also used sugar to replace the flour for preping my bundt pan. The cake came out of the pan already glazed with sugar. It was beautiful and very lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shasta Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This cake is excellent! It's one of my favorite cakes I have ever made. You really should follow the directions exactly, including using the glaze. I mixed the cake by hand in a bowl with a wooden spoon, and then when it came out the top part stuck a little to my pan so I turned it over. My kids said it looked like a giant donut. I poked several holes in the top with a toothpick and glazed it about 30 minutes after it was out of the oven. The original glaze just marinates the cake in more lemon flavor and makes it taste great. I think it will be even better tomorrow after it has sat overnight. I can't imagine the reviews that said it was not that strong of a lemon flavor, so I am guessing they didn't use this glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
A very moist and light cake. I used 4 mini bundt pans (baked 30 minutes) and 1 mini loaf pan (baked 45 minutes). I added the juice of 2 lemons and zest in place of the extract in the batter. For the glaze, I used powdered sugar instead of granulated (too grainy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by P.Smith
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I've never been a big fan of desserts, but this is very good. It has just the right balance of sweet and tart, and produces a light, moist cake. I cut the recipe in half (just my wife and I), used fresh lemon juice for the lemon extract, buttermilk for the milk and baked it in a 6 inch bundt pan. I adjusted the recipe for the glaze to: 3/4 cup powdered sugar, 3 tbs. butter, 2 tbs. milk, 2 tsp. lemon juice, 1 tsp. lemon zest and 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract. Also, since I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a 6 inch bundt pan, my cake was done in 40 minutes. A wonderful cake, once you adjust the glaze. 5 stars and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I decided to whip this cake up since I was craving a nice lemon flavor. I used the prescribed amount of lemon extract and also added the juice of one fresh lemon along with the zest of two lemons. I was shocked at how little the cake tasted like lemon. I can't even imagine that there would have been any lemon flavor if I didn't add extra lemon. That said, the texture was lovely and it baked beautifully. I did, however, have a heck of a time getting it out of the bundt pan. Not quite sure why, because I've never had that problem with past recipes. For the glaze, I used JerseyGirl's suggestion and edited her glaze (this is her suggestion: Lemon Glaze: 1 1/2 tb lemon juice, 1 1/2 c powdered sugar, 1 tb sugar, 3 tb melted butter, 1/2 t lemon extract), but I had to add MUCH more lemon juice to make the glaze workable. That said, the glaze was very tasty and really lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This is very light tasting, to the point you can barely taste the lemon at all. I added much more lemon juice after reading others comments and next time I will add even more. I made the icing with powdered sugar and because the cake is so light tasting, went heavy with the icing and I added a lot of fresh lemon juice to it. It really makes up for the cake. Just make some minor adjustments, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Awesome! Doubled the lemon extract in both cake and glaze. Very moist and delicious. I boiled the glaze ingredients together to dissolve sugar, cooled, then spooned over cake. Oiled and dusted the pan with sugar as other had recommended. Will most definitely be making in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Page

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States