Glazed Lemon Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
5 stars for the cake LOVED it!!! It was delicious, the glaze however I just couldn't make myself pour over it, it was way too wet, maybe I did something wrong, but I used "lemon glaze" instead, and the 2 went together beautifully. Thank you for this cake recipe, just what I was looking for. :) But a note to make, make sure you listen to the grease and FLOUR part, I had a new bundt pan and it said that flouring wasn't necessary --well it was for this recipe, the cake finally came out with some effort and no longer looked very pretty, but tasted excellent, just glad I wasn't serving it for guests. Lemon Glaze: 1 1/2 tb lemon juice, 1 1/2 c powdered sugar, 1 tb sugar, 3 tb melted butter, 1/2 t lemon extract, and yellow food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NC baking girl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I had to come up with a recipe that my stepdaughter could do for her home-ec class. I love to cook, and her mom asked me to assist her. She wanted to do a lemon bundt cake. The directions are simpe and very straight forward. The end product was even better. With just a little additional garnish at the end to celebrate the Christmas holiday, she got an A and I didn't get my hands dirty, and her class was rewarded with a wonderfully lemony cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hillsborough, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This lemon bundt cake does not have a strong lemon taste. I even added more lemon juice to the recipe and it only has a hint of lemon flavor. Although, I like a bundt cake with more lemon flavor, I would reccomend this recipe. It is very light and tastes good. Just not my favorite type of lemon flavor. If you like a cake with a hint of lemon flavor then this is the cake for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watauga, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Great cake! I made a different lemon glaze instead of the icing shown. Turned out delicious. Worked well in 9x13 pan instead of bundt cake pan. Thanks for the recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I decided to whip this cake up since I was craving a nice lemon flavor. I used the prescribed amount of lemon extract and also added the juice of one fresh lemon along with the zest of two lemons. I was shocked at how little the cake tasted like lemon. I can't even imagine that there would have been any lemon flavor if I didn't add extra lemon. That said, the texture was lovely and it baked beautifully. I did, however, have a heck of a time getting it out of the bundt pan. Not quite sure why, because I've never had that problem with past recipes. For the glaze, I used JerseyGirl's suggestion and edited her glaze (this is her suggestion: Lemon Glaze: 1 1/2 tb lemon juice, 1 1/2 c powdered sugar, 1 tb sugar, 3 tb melted butter, 1/2 t lemon extract), but I had to add MUCH more lemon juice to make the glaze workable. That said, the glaze was very tasty and really lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Cake is fabulous... followed the recipe for the glaze other reviews mentioned.... it was a hit at easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by P.Smith
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I've never been a big fan of desserts, but this is very good. It has just the right balance of sweet and tart, and produces a light, moist cake. I cut the recipe in half (just my wife and I), used fresh lemon juice for the lemon extract, buttermilk for the milk and baked it in a 6 inch bundt pan. I adjusted the recipe for the glaze to: 3/4 cup powdered sugar, 3 tbs. butter, 2 tbs. milk, 2 tsp. lemon juice, 1 tsp. lemon zest and 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract. Also, since I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a 6 inch bundt pan, my cake was done in 40 minutes. A wonderful cake, once you adjust the glaze. 5 stars and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Good cake. Very light texture. I changed the lemon falvorings to orange because that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This is my first review though I have used a number of the site b4. This is a really good cake but I have say, follow the exact recipe. I have now made this cake twice. The first time I tried the frosting recommended by others. USE THE ORIGAL FROSTING ON THE RECIPE. It is a lot better and so moist and lemony. It looks waterish but don’t panic just use it. With a toothpick punch holes all over the cake about 20 mins after you finish baking. Pour the original frosting over it. Do it slowly with a spoon and try and get it to stay on the cake as oppose to all just running off the side. Believe me it will be very moist and lemony. The other frosting that others recommended is good but not half as moist or lemony. Don’t let the watery effect of the mixture put you off, it works
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This was very, very moist and fluffy! I halved the recipe and put it in a loaf pan. I didn't have any lemon extract, so I used a little more than 3 tbsp. of fresh lemon juice (keep in mind this was halved). I also didn't make the glaze, so I not sure how that would have turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States