Glazed Lemon Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I would pay money for a slice of this cake if it were at the local coffeeshop...so delicious!. So like everyone else...didn't use the glaze for fear of it making the cake too moist. It already came out tasting perfect so why ruin a good thing? Did make a lemon icing though (1 cup conf. sugar, 3 tablespoons of lemon juice and if you really want some lemon add 1 teaspoon of lemon zest) Oh..one thing, like everyone else I had a heck of a time getting that thing out and onto a plate....the whole top was ruined-we obviously didn't care and quickly moved past that here at our house :-) but I mean, I buttered that baby up like no tomorrow and it still didn't come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly DFW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I thought this cake was wonderful! I did add some extra lemon extract after reading some reviews about it not having enough lemon flavor. The glaze was kind of like pouring lemonade over the cake. I think this cake tasted better the second day. All the glaze had had a chance to soak in and make the cake really tasty. The only other change I made was to coat the pan with sugar instead of flour. It gave the cake a nice sweet crunch on the outside. It was a very pretty cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bttrflybabydoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
My husband and I both loved this cake. I accidently used 2 tbsp. of grated lemon peel but otherwise, I made as directed. I only needed to bake the cake for 50 minutes. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Huber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Absolutely perfect! I followed the recipes for the cake and glaze as written. I really love the flavor. ***I have made this cake at least once per month since the first time (at the request of my husband and EVERYONE else who tastes it). I recently brought it to a dessert meeting. It was the ONLY one that was eaten all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsValentine
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This is a very moist and light cake. My husband (who is not a big lemon fan) couldn't wait for it to cool all the way and ate quite a large piece! Changed a couple things though-omitted lemon extract because I didn't have any, used 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 lemon juice and for the glaze-1 1/2 cups powdered sugar, 3 tb lemon juice, 3 tb melted butter, 1 t lemon zest. I'm sure I will make this again, maybe with a blueberry glaze next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsValentine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Great cake. Made it for Easter dinner. I followed the directions exactly. The cook time was much closer to 45 minutes, and I recently confirmed the accuracy of my oven's temp. Be sure to poke a lot of holes in the cake before pouring the glaze. I doubled the glaze for an even wetter cake, and garnished with powdered sugar and fresh raspberries (which were delicious with the light lemon glaze over them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcranepyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I thought this was very dry, and I baked it for the time indicated. I changed the lemon glaze like suggested by other reviews with yogurt, lemon juice, sugar, and it tasted great. I didnt find much lemon flavor in the cake itself. Just too dry and too dense for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This is the first recipe that I have not altered and it received rave reviews from everybody. I first made it for a fundraiser cake auction and it sold for $50. I then made another one for the house since the first one smelled so good and the leftover glaze was so tasty. It is a moist, and delicious cake with the perfect amount of lemon flavor. The cake has a more mild lemon taste and the glaze is especially tangy, so they complement each other very well. This has been added to our permanent recipe box and will be made again and again exactly how it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This cake did not turn out very well for me. I would have liked it to be softer and moister. I added a lot of lemon juice to the batter, poured the glaze into the bottom of th cake (poked holes first) and made a frosting glaze for the top and it still didn't turn out good enough to bring to the event I had made it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
awesome cake! i replaced the all purpose flour with cake flour seemed a little lighter to me. i used the lemon glaze recipe from NC baking girl and it was great. will make this many more times i'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Celina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States