Glazed Lemon Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This cake was great. For everyone who said that they used a different glaze and the cake did not have enough lemon flavor; if you read the recipe you will see that MOST of the lemon flavor is in the glaze! The actual cake only calls for 1 1/2 tsp of lemon extract. This cake is tasty just the way the recipe is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I absolutely loved this cake. It was the first "from scratch" cake I had ever made. As soon as it was done and cooled it was gone in a matter of minutes. My Family Loved It!!!!! If you don't have time to do the glaze the cake is amazing by itself. The first time I made I didn't use the glaze and it wa still a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Brought in to work and it was gone with tons of recipe requests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Do not, I repeat, do not, be intimidated by the liquid consistency of the glaze! I think the appropriate word to call it would be 'syrup' actually, instead of glaze, as it is far more viscous than ordinary glazes are, and does not set up crustily over the top of the cake. Instead, it is absorbed into the lemon cake and results in a wonderfully moist, lemon-infused cake. Plus, with this syrup, you never have to worry about lack of lemon-ness, like others who have altered the glaze complained, because the lemon juice in the glaze ensures plenty of lemon flavour. I would recommend you to follow the original recipe first, because I did and it came out beautifully - the only thing I changed, like some other reviewers did too, was to butter the bundt pan and dust it with ICING sugar, not normal granulated/caster sugar. This made cake release an easy feat, and the cake came out beautifully. I do think that it tastes better the day AFTER it is made - my suspicions are that it absorbs moisture from the air and becomes much more flavourful and moist. Thumbs up for a great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This cake did not turn out well for me. It was very bland, not lemony and it did not come out of the pan at all even though I did grease and flour it well. It was just a mess of overbaked on the outside, wet on the inside, not yummy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
A mild citrus flavor to the cake is kicked up by the extremely lemony glaze. I didn't have any lemon extract so used orange extract instead; this is the only change I made to the recipe. No, I tell a lie, I also followed the advice of others and used sugar instead of flour when I greased the pan; it worked like a charm, and no white residue to boot. The next time I make it, I will use powdered sugar instead of granulated for the glaze, as it came out just a wee bit crunchy. This might also be good made with orange juice/zest, adjusting the sugar since oranges are sweeter than lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan T-O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This recipe turned out great! Easy to make and tasted great. I read all reviews first, and for the person who tried it twice and got batter the consistency of cookie batter...I can wholeheartedly say, you did something wrong. I did follow the advice of others and used 3/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup lemon juice for the liquid. Other than that followed the recipe, and it took 50 minutes to bake. Also used crisco and flour to grease the pan and had no trouble getting the cake out. I would recommend this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This cake and the glaze turned out great. Sweet and lemony, a perfect summer dessert. Don't worry about the glaze appearing runny. That's how glazes are supposed to look. Just pour it over the top of the warm cake and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
The cake was really delicious, although mine completely fell apart when I tried to take it out of the pan. I used a springform bundt pan and in the future I would leave it in the pan for longer than the suggested 10 minutes as well as try the sugar that other reviewers have suggested. Watch out for this problem - or just bake it in a 9 x 9". Also: I adjusted for high altitude and had no problems with rising. I decreased sugar by about 2 tablespoons, decreased baking powder by 1/4 teaspoon, added an extra 1/4 cup liquid and baked it at 365.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
The cake was okay. If you like a plain pound cake, then you will like it. It has very little lemon flavor on its own. All the flavor comes from the glaze. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States