Glazed Lemon Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
a little dry... but I didn't add the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Really great cake. I took this to work and it was demolished. As for the "wetness" of the glaze, I was hesitant about it, but went ahead. It's not a glaze like I typically think of it. It soaks into the cake and makes a lemony crust. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I made this recipe in a 6 "cakelet" tray and it turned out wonderfully! I noted that some reviewers did not feel this had enough lemon flavor, but I think the majority of those substituted lemon juice in place of lemon extract- if you use the lemon extract it is plenty lemony. I also did the glaze as directed in the recipe but I sifted my granulated sugar first to make sure there would be no lumps. When you pour it over the warm cakes it soaks in more of a lemon flavor, but also gives a sugary crust- it was very good! I'm sure it is better made as a cake; the sugar was almost too overwhelming for the cakelets (more concentrated in each serving than a cake might be), but it was still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
First and foremost, this cake is fantastic. I made two minor changes: First, I had a little buttermilk to use before it expired, so I used 1/4 of buttermilk and the other 3/4 cup whole milk; and second, I combined my glaze ingredients in a sauce pan and boiled it until the sugar was dissolved. Other than that, I followed the directions as written. I also wanted to say to those who made ridiculous substitutions (replacing an entire cup of milk with an entire cup of lemon juice?!) that you people have no business giving this cake a low rating because of your inability to use common sense when baking. And to those who said the cake wasn't lemony enough--it has only one tablespoon of lemon zest in the cake. What did you think it was going to taste like??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maurertown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This cake is like slices of heaven.......amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
way too dry and the icing was runny and sugary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This came out delicious. I used fresh lemon juice since I didn't have any extract on hand it came out great. The glaze didn't quite come out as I expected, and I ended up heating it on the stove to get the sugar to dissolve and added a little more sugar to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
i followed this cake to the t and it came out GREAT!! sooo moist and the glaze was great... i got alot of compliments on the cake! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I LOVE this cake! I've made it twice now, and have added it to my real-life recipe box. I don't own a bundt cake, so both times I've made it in a regular round cake pan. First, I used a 10 inch diameter pan, and the second time I used an 8 inch diamter pan--it was a close call in the smaller one, and it almost overflowed but didn't. Some people have said in their reviews the cake wasn't lemon-y enough for them--it is definitely a lemon cake. It's not sour, punch-you-in-the-face lemon, but it's definitely a LEMON cake. And the glaze... oh the glaze just makes it even more moist and wonderful and delicious. If you make the recipe as is, don't change anything, you will enjoy the product. It's great with coffee in the morning. If you make it once and think it isn't lemony enough, then try adding lemon juice to the cake or a bit more lemon extract--but definitely try it first without any changes! Numerous people have eaten this cake and all have loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Monticello, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This is the best cake I have ever eaten! I made it exactly as the recipe read, only adding pokied holes in the cake before adding the glaze, as suggested by another reviewer. It is amazing! A lot of lemon flavor, light and moist. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States