Glazed Lemon Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I love you, but why must you stick to the pan like that? I've tried greasing and sugaring and then even Pam, yet you still insist on sticking to the pan. I hate you and your delicious goodness. With that said, this cake is delicious. I do not recommend replacing the cup of milk with a cup of lemon juice. With the milk, you get a lighter, prettier cake with just the barest hint of lemon that goes wonderfully with the topping. With the lemon, it is just a sour mess. I also recommend mixing the topping ingredients together in a small bowl and then putting said bowl in some warm water and slowly stirring so that it isn't as grainy. It would also work with a microwave, but it's just personal preference. Enjoy~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I really did not care for this cake. Even after following other reviews tip to add more lemon juice, the cake came out bland and lacking any flavor. I wished it had been sweeter and more tart. It did turn out beautifully,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindseym

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This is an amazing recipe! I was craving a lemon cake and decided upon this recipe last night. Like others suggested, I intended to use 1 cup of lemon juice instead of the milk and extract, but I was only able to squeeze out about a half a cup. I didn't have any milk, but I had just about a half a cup of buttermilk left from making biscuits, so I used that and added some extra lemon zest. For a glaze, I mixed about a tablespoon of light cream cheese with powdered sugar, lemon juice, and lemon zest. Wow! The result was a fabulously moist and lemony cake that is sure to become one of the staple dessert items in my house. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Really yummy! Definitely make the cake more lemony; try adding some lemon juice. I also thickening the glaze a lot with a couple cups of powdered sugar, since it really was too watery. I added butter and more lemon juice to the glaze as well. Coat the pan with butter and sugar (rather than flour), and the outside comes out with a light golden crisp, delicious! I cooked my bundt for only 45 minutes too, so keep an eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This cake is wonderful. Anyone who likes lemon will love it. The next time I will heat the glaze and see if it will absorb faster/easier if the sugar is melted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I used this recipe as a guideline, but followed some advice from other reviewers. I didn't have any lemon zest or lemon extract, so instead, I substituted milk for a cup of lemon juice. The result... VERY moist, with a strong lemon flavor. I followed the glaze recipe, skipping the lemon extract. The cake was good, but it wasn't what I was hoping for. I only had a slice, but my family has enjoyed it and it was probably my fault for deviating from the recipe, so it earns 4 stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I made the cake JUST AS and it came out beautifully. The cake itself has a mild lemon flavor and the batter tastes great. I made the glaze and poured it on like 5 minutes after I flipped it out the pan and it enhanced the cake completely. The glaze is sooo lemony and YES it is watery. That didn't bother me because I HATE thick hardened glaze on cakes. The only thing I did differently was use fresh lemons because I didn't have any extract or bottled lemon juice :( but I think it made it taste better..I'd never used real lemon juice in baking before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Fabulous! I added about 1/4 lemon juice to the cake batter, which in essence turns the milk into buttermilk. Followed the glaze recipe to a T and although I was skeptical at first, it turned out perfectly. Bake time was definitely a lot less than the recipe. It took about 40 minutes for mine to be done and that was a tad too much. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Picardythird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I made this cake to have after Easter dinner, and my family and I LOVED IT!! It had a lemony but not sour taste, a nice fluffy texture, and smelled really good. The strange thing was, I took it out about twenty minutes early and it was perfect. So, it's a good thing to check while it's baking to make sure it doesn't burn. But overall, I thought it was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
follow recipe the glaze is the best part; makes cake light and lemony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States