Glazed Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I was surprised at how this bread only had a very slight lemon taste (because of the lemon syrup at the end). To get the lemon flavor I was going for, I had to add another two lemons worth of juice with sugar to make a glaze. The texture is also very dense, which I suppose a bread would be - I was hoping for a lighter texture. I would make this again, but add two lemons worth of juice to the batter & then do another lemon glaze on top as well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Very good recipe.... It's not too sweet which I really really like and the lemon flavor is just right ! its so soft and moist. You must make sure you really cream your butter and sugar properly just like the recipe says b4 adding the eggs to achieve the softness of the bread. Definitely going to my favourite recipe box... Ty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
The recipe has good bones, texture was nice and preparation was easy. I used the zest of two whole lemons and their juice and still found the lemon flavor too subtle. Going to try lemon extract along with the zest and juice next time and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibbyB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This one was really delicious! I made a different glaze than the one for the recipe, I used powdered sugar, lemon juice and orange juice. After the bread was cooled I poured it over, it came out really beautiful. Also I baked it for about 45 min. any longer and it would have burned, thanks a lot for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Easy bread recipe, especially if you only have lemons and want to make a treat. I did use powdered sugar for the glaze and avoided the issues with the grainy texture other reviewers mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and it came out so beautiful I can barely believe it was made by me! The loaf is delicious but the glaze is what makes it magic. Will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I made this into muffins, omitted the walnuts, and used poppy seeds instead. The first day, these were excellent. But, because of the glaze, the tops became gooey after that. I would suggest if making muffins, only glazing the ones that will be eaten right away. Or maybe making a thicker glaze with powdered sugar. Overall, the lemon flavor was terrific and perfect with the addition of the poppy seeds. Will for sure make again, probably trying as written, as a bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I liked this, but it needed the glaze for sure. I added about 2 tbsp poppy seeds instead of the nuts, and added 2 tbsp fresh lemon juice, which not only adds flavor but also the acidity helps activate the baking powder, resulting in a very fluffy bread. My baking time was different because I used one of those "Perfect Brownie Pans" to make little squares, probably about the equivalent of a mini-muffin, and baked for 25 minutes. The bread really isn't that sweet, and has a pretty mild flavor, and I found it to be extremely moist. Not sure if it's due to my changes, but I can't see this being a slicing bread, however the texture is perfect for mini-muffins or something like what I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I made this without nuts and added a few squeezes of fresh lemon juice to the batter. I had no problems with dryness as other reviewers have noted and I loved this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This bread had a good taste but was dry and crumbled when I sliced it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States