Glazed Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This was wonderful!!!! I used a 6 pound double smoked, fully cooked picnic ham and put it in the slow cooker with 1/2 the amount of water in the recipe. I cooked it on low for 8 hours. 2 hours before the time was up I removed the drippings, skimmed the fat of the top and added the honey and brown sugar and cloves. I did not use liquid smoke or worchestershire sauce. I actually doubled the amount of glaze as I had two cups of drippings and didn't see the sense in wasting them. I poured it back over the ham and let it cook for an hour and a half. I then turned the crock setting to high and removed the lid and basted the ham cooked for half an hour more and pulled the ham out to rest. I then took the drippings and boiled them on the stovetop gently to reduce. I served this with baked root vegetables, a salad and some steamed green beans and the glaze reduction on the side which was excellent for adding onto the root veggies and the ham. Everyone loved the ham and I have only enough left to make a casserole with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWSAHMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
If I could give more stars than 5, I would. This ham was amazing! It was so tender, I could not pick it up out of the pan without it completely falling apart! Here's some secrets that I did. First, I used a 8-pound smoked picnic ham rather than a shank ham. I put it in a dutch oven without a rack. I put the water in as directed. I PUT THE HAM IN FAT SIDE UP! This allowed for the fat to penetrate and "baste" the ham while cooking. I put the lid on it and forgot about it for 7 hours (1 hour per pound) at 275 degrees. Then I poured all of the liquid out, glazed the ham, anc baked it for another hour. I will definately make this again. It was a hit with my husband who is always looking for that meat to fall off the bone. Now if only I could make a roast this tender.... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Wow.. This was AMAZING! I even used a small, boneless, presliced, alredy cooked ham and it was still Amazing! I just cooked it in the water for an hour to get some of the juices in the water and than I followed the directions for the glaze exactly like it's stated and than poured it over the slices and covered it and cooked it for another hour... and like another poster said the meat that was submurged at the bottom of the pan was the best... We were all fighting over those slices! This is definatly a keeper and I can't wait to try it at Easter w/ a real ham. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This ham was so good, it turned out extremely tender. I used a fully cooked 18lb ham for easter. Put it in the oven with the water and let it cook slow for about 3 and a half hours. I didn't debone it, but cut a checkerboard pattern on the top of the ham and poured the glaze over. returned the ham to the oven for another half hour and sliced. So good, everyone had compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was awesome! We did a ham for New Year's and I actually did this in my slow cooker. I put the ham in, cooked for about 5 hours on high, then added the glaze and cooked for 1 1/2 hours on low. The only problem I had was trying to figure out how to get it out of my crock pot! The sauce smells and looks a little weird when you mix it up, and I was leery because I'm used to the regular honey/brown sugar glaze, but once it's had time to cook on the ham it's perfect. I made this with the "potato casserole" (recipe submitted by JeremyBeeler - also a five star recipe... just don't check the nutrition information!)which I've made from time to time over the years and green beans with almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I just made this for Easter and everyone loved it. It was a tad sweet for my taste, but that's just me. It was the first time I've made a ham and didn't realize how much fat is on a shank ham, so when I pulled it out of the oven after 8 hours I was shocked at how little meat was left after removing the fat. I had a 10 lb ham and was planning to feed 13 people. What was left was not enough to do that so I had to grill 6 chicken breasts and we ate every bit of both. It was easy though, and a hit, so I will make it again with the knowledge that I need about 1 lb per person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Very good. I cooked it for Easter, for a family of die-hard baked ham (the $60.00-specialty store kind) fans. It was a big hit, from waking up in the morning to the delicious smell (cooked over night). It fell off the bone. I will say I was nervous baking my own ham, but it was worth it. The ham was different than any store bought ham I had ever had. Thanks for a great, easy recipe. I will make it again, and I won't wait until next Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Easton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Used this recipe with a precooked spiral sliced 9lb. ham. As suggested, I cooked for 1 hour on 250 degrees, then followed the recipe, pouring the glaze over the ham. I patted some brown sugar over the top, but that's just my preference. It cooked for about 2 hrs more and was done and delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAPOLIMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
FOUND THIS RECIPE AND IT SOUNDED GREAT. TRYED IT FOR EASTER SUNDAY FOR 15 PEOPLE AND HAD NOTHING BUT GREAT COMENTS ON HOW TASTY IT WAS. WILL BE USING THIS FOR YEARS TO COME. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This is the best ham I have ever made. I served a very picky family & everyone raved about it! Out of a 10lb. ham, I only have about 5 pieces left! This was absolutely wonderful and so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States