Glazed Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I used an 11 lb shank ham. Cooked 6 hours in the oven, cut and removed the fat. I cooked the last hour with the glaze in my crockpot. It was delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I made three 8 lb. raw (butt portion) Smithfield brand hams for our Easter meal this year and doubled the glaze recipe. Two were roasted in the oven @ 275 for 5.5 hours and one in a crockpot on low for the same amount of time. All three were good, however, I was surprised I preferred the crockpot ham over the 2 oven roasted. The color was pink and more appealing and didn't look overcooked as the oven method. I made the hams ahead of time on Saturday, refrigerated them and sliced with electric knife on Easter. Baked in the oven with the glaze mixture but added 1/4 cup white wine and 2 Tablespoon honey dijon mustard. Excellent with the recipe submitted by "nik" for Scalloped Pineapple, Pat's Baked Beans, Cheesy AuGratin Potatoes and a great salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I will cook a ham any other way again! Full of flavor and very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
We used this for our Thanksgiving ham and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
THE best ham I have ever had/made. My relatives went "ga-ga" over this the first time I made it and now they DEMAND I make this for every POSSIBLE holiday... Christmas, Easter, Flag Day... what have you. TRY this recipe... you will be pleasantly surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari the Amazon
Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was delicious! My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunrise, Florida, USA
Living In: Fowler, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
OMG, I have never made a ham before in all my years of cooking because I don't really like it but I have to say this was the best ham I have ever had, I wanted to cook this for as long as the recipe stated but I didn't have the time so I cooked it for 4 hours the day before Christmas, I removed the glaze from the panand refrigerated it until Christmas day, I sliced it up and put it in a roasting pan with some of the glaze covered it and heated it up while we carved the turkey and everyone raved about how good it was. I love ham now and this will be the only recipe that I will use, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Boy did this recipe save my bacon (pun intended)!! I picked up a 12 pound ham on sale for $0.070/lb at the store earlier in the week not knowing that there was actually such a thing as an uncooked smoked ham!! Good thing I read the tag on the ham that said "cook for 18-25 minutes per pound" early in the morning before we left for Christmas Day Mass. Luckly, I had all the ingredients in the pantry (it's a law in Texas to keep liquid smoke in the cupboard!). Anyway, the flavor of the ham after adding the glaze was mild and perfectly spiced witht he ground cloves and Worcestershire. The meat fell right off the bone. Also, adding the 2" of water made lots of great broth that will (along with the aforementioned bone) make for some incredible bean soup. My daughter just told me this is the best ham ever and told me never to buy a spiral sliced ham again!! Thanks for sharing this great recipe Connie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas2Step

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This is a terrific ham recipe. Everybody raved about it. I wonder about the added water though. I put in the 3 cups but part way through the water was almost half way up my roaster. I used a Cook's ham, and maybe it was one of those that they pump up with water (or worse), but I had to siphon a lot out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I thought this was fantastic. The best part is the smokiness you get from the liquid smoke. It's way better than just an ol' fashioned sweetened ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States