Glazed Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I know that the main reason that I am so mad at this recipe is because I should have used better judgement, but I hope that my mistake can help others. The four cups of water is WAY TOO MUCH! I put this in the oven to cook overnight for a big Easter dinner party and woke up at 4 am (5 hours into the bake) when my ham drippings came over the edge, baked onto the bottom of the oven that I needed to use all day, and filled my home with thick smoke. I had planned my day to the minute to prepare a big dinner on time and that planning did not allow for an hour of oven cleaning and a ham that ended up a little dry anyway. If I did this again I would use an oven bag and much less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
best ham ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Very good ham. I did not use thye liquid smoke but instead added 2 TBS dijon mustard to the liquid/sugar mixture. Very tender and tasty. I did not find it overly sweet at all. In fact, after we sliced the ham we sprinkled a little of the sweet juice from the bottom of the pot on top of our ham before serving... Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Sooo good. As per another reviewer, we agree the bottom part that cooked in all the liquid was to die for. I started with a 7 lb bone in picnic ham and used 1 cup of water (per label directions). Cooked for two hours at *350* (not 275) then did the glaze part and cooked for another hour. I didn't have liquid smoke but it was amazing even without it. I wonder if the smoke flavor would have detracted from it anyway... I will never make ham any other way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
There is no other ham recipe in our house. This is IT! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sweeny, Texas, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made this for our poker night and everyone loved it! It was really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by g5club

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chuluota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was my first year celebrating Christmas with my husbands family. I made the entire meal. Cooking a ham was something I have never done, I made a spiral ham using this recipe and it turned out amazing. The only bad part was there were no left overs! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Never made a ham a day in my life, but I really wanted one and I used this recipe. FABULOUS! Now, 2 tbsp seemed like a bit much so I used 1 tbsp and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plump@Heart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was just too easy to get the amount of compliments it got. Very impressive! I did soak my ham in a clean garbage bag of water for several hours to remove some of the salt content. Turned out perfect. Thank you. AGAIN..awesome. Made this again this year and because of holiday chaos I accidentally left the slow cooker on too long and then supper was delayed so had to reheat again. By the time it was sliced the glaze had almost blackened and it still was complimented over and over again. None left over and it was a BIG ham. Amazing and simple. Love love love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I love eating ham at friends and family get togethers but have never made it myself. I made this recipe recently for a family get together and my ham beats every other ham I have eaten hands down!!! This recipe rocks AND it got rave reviews from all of my in-laws :) This recipe is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdL03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States