Glazed Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This recipe made a wonderful glaze! I didn't have liquid smoke, so my ham was wonderfully sweet and caramelized, but I would have loved to taste it with the added smokiness. I used the original glaze recipe, but changed the approach. About 20-30 minutes before serving, I began to spoon the glaze over the ham in 5 minute increments, and did not cover it again. This created a nice caramelized color (its not burnt!- its CARAMELIZED!!) that I love to see in a ham, along with making a nice crunch on the outer layer of ham. It also kept the Ham extremely moist while it rested on the counter before cutting. I have added a hard copy of this recipe to my recipe box, where it will be used on many hams to come! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I stopped by allrecipes yesterday just to check on baking time for my ham. Saw this recipe and thought I would give it a try. It is AMAZING!!! Ham came out moist and sweet. Have already forwarded it to my daughter and sister!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was an awesome change from plain old baked ham with cloves and pineapple. My family loved it and had second and third helpings! I was hoping for leftovers for taking to work, but alas, none was left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was so easy to make and yummy. Great leftovers too if you leave it in the glaze and it keeps it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
LOVED IT! no need to buy a glazed ham no more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
First, let me say this: I am a NON-HAM person. With that being said, my boyfriend said "Hey, let's cook ham for Christmas Eve". Here's is what we did: We used an 18 lb supermarket bone-in, precooked ham. We cooked it for 3 1/2 hours at 275 degrees in water (about 2 inches in the roasting pan), tightly covered in foil. We took the ham out of the over, kept 1 cup of the "ham water" to add to the glaze recipe (made exactly as directed) and poured out the remainder of the "ham water." We DID NOT remove the bone. The ham was recovered tightly with the foil, returned to the oven (still at 275 degrees) and cooked for 30 more minutes. When finished, it was AMAZING! The meat literally fell from the bone. We stood at the stove, peeled pieces of the ham off, dipped the pieces in the "glaze water" at the bottom of the pan, and looked at each other with big, goofy smiles. My boyfriend (who IS a Ham Person) thought it was fantastic, but would have liked the glaze to be a bit thicker--maybe not add the "ham water" but brush the ham with the glaze, as is? Maybe use a thickener like cornstarch? He wasn't sure. Needless to say, I have become a "Ham Convert", thanks to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Glazed Ham Haiku: "Oh my gosh, this rocked. Served to guests who ate it up. Sad, no leftovers!" My ham was "done" in about 5 hrs., so I prepared the glaze, didn't debone, and left it covered tightly in the oven on very low for another couple hrs, basting often. Let it rest on the counter, covered, for another hr., again w/ lots of basting, prior to serving. There wasn't any carving necessary, as it fell into wonderful chunks, which my guests happily devoured. Very good, easy glaze which made an otherwise dull (but inexpensive) shank ham super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Excellent recipe!! I marinated a precooked butt portion shank ham in an oven bag with it and a splash of white wine, then baked the ham according to the directions on the label. Wonderful flavor and not a bit dry. We'll definitely use this again - thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
well, my glaze was more akin 2 juice. but it's great juice! just wish it would stick to my ham! next time i will use less liquid and hopefully that will make it workout out. my ham was juicy though, not dried out. i made sure to flip the ham every hour so that each side sat in the juice. other than the very liquid like glaze, it was good. i will try again w/ less juice, maybe 1/2 cup and then update my review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
OMG! I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this!!! First time I ever made ham and I'm a picky eater when it comes to ham. This came out great and with amazing flavor! Definetly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States