Glazed Corned Beef with Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This tasted really good, but I had issues. I followed the recipe, even though my roast was only 2.12 pounds (which I'm sure was some of the problem). My roast was pre marinaded in the pickling spices, so I omitted them and just dumped the juices from the meat into the pot. I also couldn't resist adding cabbage to the pot, because I love corned beef and cabbage. I figured I'd add it to the lentils later (which I didn't end up doing, I just ate the yummy cabbage!). My lentils are STILL cooking as I type. I used the brown kind since that's what was at my grocery store, but different kinds of lentils cook up differently, so I don't know what would be best. I also had to add ALL the broth to my ONE CUP of lentils-which makes a TON! I included the carrot and some of the onion to my lentils and then mashed it in. The lentils taste great, but they're taking a real long time to cook. I will make this again, but I'll try and tweak the cooking times so I have a moist roast. This was also my first time making corned beef, so I'm giving some credit to the recipe since I'm inexperienced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Very good brisket; can do without the lentils. Altho I like lentils, this version is not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NonaCarole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I have made this recipes every year for the last 3 years and every time I get lots of compliments. I am not a fan of lentils so after I remove the beef from the broth I dump in potatoes and carrots to cook and when they're close to done I add a quartered cabbage. This year I added a can of beer to the broth just to make it a little more interesting and it did just that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jesusislife
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was a great recipe! We especially liked the glaze. I used 2 Tbsp. honey mustard and 1 Tbsp. of the other. Cooked the beef in a crock pot for about 4 hrs. It was hard to tell if it was done, but after 30 min. in the oven tasted done. Not extremely tender, but good taste. I would afford more time if planning on using a crock pot. Sliced meat thinly after baking and drizzled glazed in pan over. Added potatoes and cabbage. Cubed and cooked all in the crock pot. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesusislife

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
The corned beef is to-die-4!! The lentils are also very good however I need to cok a little while longer than called for and I ended up adding more broth to them as they were starting to dry out. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
The corned beef was definitely worth 5 stars - however, my family didn't like the lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Golden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Delish!! We LOVE corned beef at our house, and this recipe just raised the bar!! My family raved for days about this dish, and I have made it for family and company, with the same fantastic reaction! Goood recipe, many thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This was wonderful. I loved it so much I cooked it for my mother and siter. The glaze really brings it out. The lintils were also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeorgiaPeach2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thomasville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
i made this dish for an early st. patrick's day dinner. we thought the corned beef tasted good but it wasn't anything to write home about. i also made the lentils using heinz chili sauce (bennett's is better but my store was sold out) & we felt the same way about them. here's a tip for new cooks: many beef briskets conveniently contain a small packet of pickling spices inside the wrap. thanks anyway karena.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Awesome!! Very moist and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States