Glazed Corned Beef with Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
My go to St. Patric's Day meal! It's a wonderful blend of flavors! I've made it as directed for the last 5 years! Try it you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Nice glaze, lentils were OK, but I've had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Gluten free and fabulous! Great alternative for those who can't or won't boil the meat in beer, this makes up for that loss of flavor. There were NO left overs. The fat rendered down and melted in your mouth. Just yummy. Reduced the amount of chile, I used siraca and only 2 tablespoons. Also served with colcanon which was ok, but I prefer the boiled potato and cabbage in the meat pot- true Irish one pot. You should makes this corned beef exactly as directed the recipe is BAZINGA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This review is for the corn beef only. It was my first time ever cooking corn beef, and it turned out nicely. Preparation was simple, and it made good leftovers for corn beef hash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was pretty good. The glaze for the meat was really good and I would love to try it on ham as well. My meat was dry, mainly because the timing was way off the way this recipe is written. I needed way more time for the lentils to cook so my meat dried out. Cooking the lentils in the meat water was genius but I needed way more than 3 cups of water! I kept adding water to keep those lentils cooking. Also, BEWARE re the chile sauce. I used less than a quarter cup of Hunan Red Chile sauce and OMG the lentils are HOT. I'd suggesting using an 1/8 to start with. The lentil yield is great, and I'm looking forward to mixing the leftovers with fresh hot rice and kielbasa for tomorrow's dinner. Anyway, even with the dried out meat and slightly undercooked lentils I gave this recipe as written 4 stars. Next time I make it, knowing what I do, it'll be a 5 star meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I recommend straining the vegetables out of the water and adding them to the lentils, yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReiGuzu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is always my New Year's Day corned beef recipe. I've honestly made it both following with the "extras" in the boiled beef, and just boiling the beef in water, and don't notice much difference ... it's the glazing that makes this perfect! My grown kids love this, and would be happy to come home and eat it weekly! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This tasted really good, but I had issues. I followed the recipe, even though my roast was only 2.12 pounds (which I'm sure was some of the problem). My roast was pre marinaded in the pickling spices, so I omitted them and just dumped the juices from the meat into the pot. I also couldn't resist adding cabbage to the pot, because I love corned beef and cabbage. I figured I'd add it to the lentils later (which I didn't end up doing, I just ate the yummy cabbage!). My lentils are STILL cooking as I type. I used the brown kind since that's what was at my grocery store, but different kinds of lentils cook up differently, so I don't know what would be best. I also had to add ALL the broth to my ONE CUP of lentils-which makes a TON! I included the carrot and some of the onion to my lentils and then mashed it in. The lentils taste great, but they're taking a real long time to cook. I will make this again, but I'll try and tweak the cooking times so I have a moist roast. This was also my first time making corned beef, so I'm giving some credit to the recipe since I'm inexperienced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Very good brisket; can do without the lentils. Altho I like lentils, this version is not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NonaCarole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I have made this recipes every year for the last 3 years and every time I get lots of compliments. I am not a fan of lentils so after I remove the beef from the broth I dump in potatoes and carrots to cook and when they're close to done I add a quartered cabbage. This year I added a can of beer to the broth just to make it a little more interesting and it did just that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States