Glazed Apple Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This is such a great pie, u have to try it.I did chill it, and then decided to warm it and serve with vanilla ice cream on top. yummmmmmmy my family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darby B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Made this for Thanksgiving this year and it was a HUGE hit. Followed the directions exactly. As another reviewer stated, slicing the apples thinly made a difference; they had the texture I was looking for vs. the thicker sliced apples my husband had cut which were crispier than I would have liked. This is now a "must have" for Thanksgiving every year. Thank you, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Another 5 stars for this incredible recipe! I was a little apprehensive about making it, since we're apple pie purists in this house. But I really wanted to try it after reading the reviews, and I'm so glad I did; everyone loved it. Refrigeration is the key to keeping the creamy layer separate from the apples. The presentation is just lovely when cut and the taste is a knock-out! My son especially loved the glazed crust and said I should do that with every pie I make from now on. I used 3 very large Granny Smith apples and it baked up impressively high, although I wanted more in the apple layer and will add another apple (for a total of 4) the next time I make it. This will be a holiday tradition from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I took this to Thanksgiving, and even though there were plenty of other desserts, I barely got a piece of this pie before it was gone. Then I made another one a month later just so I could have it all to myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This brings a creamy twist to traditional apple pie. I used three apples and it was absolutely perfect! I also added apple pie spice in addition to the cinnamon. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Gross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by matrina japan
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This was delicious. My daughter loved it and so did my husband. I used brown sugar instead of white sugar. Once the mixture got thick I gave it a taste and I was in heaven. It reminded me of creamy pudding. Which gave me many new ideas thank you. Tonight I will be using this recipe again but the only thing I will do differently is I will mix cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg and allspice in the mixture. Then once it cools slightly I'm going to fold the apples in the mixture and pour it onto the pie crust, and use egg yolk and cream(egg wash) as a glaze. Thank you again for this creamy filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matrina japan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This was an excellent, easy pie that was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Fantastic Pie. I did increase the apples to three, left off the glaze (to much sweetness) and added a sprinkle of sugar before baking. This was the closest to a perfect pie I have ever eaten or baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Definitely not what I expected. The taste of what was wrong with the cream was hard to pinpoint. I was VERY disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This pie was interesting...it seemed that the cream portion of the pie was absorbed by the apples...I was expecting more creaminess I guess. I added some extra apples too. To me, plain old apple pie tastes better and is less effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States