Glazed Apple Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe! It has become my favorite apple pie recipe ever! I always use an extra apple and I like to bake with natural sugar (just a preference). I have only used the glaze once, because I feel that one of this recipe's key virtues is that is sweet and delicious, but not too sweet. Sometimes I will just sprinkle a little raw sugar on top for decoration. I have made a vegan version and it was crazy delicious. I couldn't even tell myself that it was non-dairy so I thought I would share my lactose free vanilla custard rendition . I used 2 1/4 cups of soy half and half, you can use soy milk but you might want to up the amount of sugar a tad, 6 tbl. cornstarch, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/4 cup of natural raw sugar, 1 14 oz can coconut milk and 2 tbl. vanilla extract, and 2 tbl. vegan margarine. I mixed all the dry ingredients in the pot and then slowly added the soy and coconut milk over mediun heat just until boiling stirring constantly, then I added the margarine until melted, removed from heat and added the vanilla extract. This was the perfect consistency and was just as delicious as the dairy version. I also used the pie crust I recipe that I found on this sight because it didn't call for eggs and it worked out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was okay but sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHNICKELFRITZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
As a breakfast apple pastry, this is good. As an apple pie, not so much. Used 4 granny smiths instead of 2, thank goodness, or we would not have known there were apples in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Yummy! I used 2 large Granny Smith and 2 small gala apples for this pie. It came out really good. We all really enjoyed this pie. I served it cold but I think it would be better warm. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
absolutely my most favorite apple pie ever. it's just different enough to make a phenomenal impact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was really good-It definitely needs 3-4 apples though. Other than that it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
When I started making this, I never imagined it would taste so good. I absolutely loved it and won't make traditional apple pie again, when I can make this instead. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used 3 apples. I think you can even get away with 4 apples to make it a little healthier. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Wonderful flavor. The crust got too brown so I needed to have used aluminum foil, used an extra apple. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I have celiac disease and this pie was very friendly. I used a pastry crust recipe out of a book that I have, and when the pie calls for flour to dust the apples with, I used Jules Gluten Free Flour Mix. It seemed that I had to bake it for longer with a gluten free crust, about 45-55 minutes. However, I do think that the extra time made the apples softer, the way I like them. I absolutely loved this pie, and everyone that tried it was begging for a second piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This is good. Some more spices in the filling would make it more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States