Glazed Apple Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I'm not a big apple pie fan, but my husband is, and we both LOVED this pie. He took it to work, and a coworker even commented that it "looked professional" HA! The custard went really well with the apples. I tried this both cold and warm and both were great, though warm is better. And because the custard added extra richness, it didn't need ice cream! The only thing I would change is to decrease the sugar in the custard some, but otherwise great. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This is such a great pie, u have to try it.I did chill it, and then decided to warm it and serve with vanilla ice cream on top. yummmmmmmy my family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darby B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Made this for Thanksgiving this year and it was a HUGE hit. Followed the directions exactly. As another reviewer stated, slicing the apples thinly made a difference; they had the texture I was looking for vs. the thicker sliced apples my husband had cut which were crispier than I would have liked. This is now a "must have" for Thanksgiving every year. Thank you, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Another 5 stars for this incredible recipe! I was a little apprehensive about making it, since we're apple pie purists in this house. But I really wanted to try it after reading the reviews, and I'm so glad I did; everyone loved it. Refrigeration is the key to keeping the creamy layer separate from the apples. The presentation is just lovely when cut and the taste is a knock-out! My son especially loved the glazed crust and said I should do that with every pie I make from now on. I used 3 very large Granny Smith apples and it baked up impressively high, although I wanted more in the apple layer and will add another apple (for a total of 4) the next time I make it. This will be a holiday tradition from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I took this to Thanksgiving, and even though there were plenty of other desserts, I barely got a piece of this pie before it was gone. Then I made another one a month later just so I could have it all to myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This brings a creamy twist to traditional apple pie. I used three apples and it was absolutely perfect! I also added apple pie spice in addition to the cinnamon. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annamariegross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by matrina japan
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This was delicious. My daughter loved it and so did my husband. I used brown sugar instead of white sugar. Once the mixture got thick I gave it a taste and I was in heaven. It reminded me of creamy pudding. Which gave me many new ideas thank you. Tonight I will be using this recipe again but the only thing I will do differently is I will mix cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg and allspice in the mixture. Then once it cools slightly I'm going to fold the apples in the mixture and pour it onto the pie crust, and use egg yolk and cream(egg wash) as a glaze. Thank you again for this creamy filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matrina japan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This was an excellent, easy pie that was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Fantastic Pie. I did increase the apples to three, left off the glaze (to much sweetness) and added a sprinkle of sugar before baking. This was the closest to a perfect pie I have ever eaten or baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Definitely not what I expected. The taste of what was wrong with the cream was hard to pinpoint. I was VERY disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States