Glazed Apple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I just finished making these cookies, and they are delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, but used butter instead of shortening(personal preference). They turned out great! I don't understand why people go and change the recipe, when there is no need to do so. Great recipe, as is, and I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Yummy recipe. I used butter, just so it wouldn't spread out as much. Also I noticed it was better with dark-brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Great tasting cookie! I used granny smith apples which I grated. I used all butter, added in chopped walnuts and both regular and golden raisins. I added ½ tsp. of baking powder and ½ tsp. of baking soda in place of the 1 teaspoon of baking soda. I mixed the dough and dropped a Tablespoon onto the cookie sheet then placed it into the oven. The first batch of cookies turned dark brown on the edges and underneath the cookies while it was still baking, so I lowered the temperature to 375 and baked for 10 minutes. The rest of the cookies came out fine baking a round shape. I baked 39 cookies. There was a wonderful scent of apples, raisins and cinnamon filling up my house! I made the glaze and chilled it while all the cookies cooled. I couldn’t wait for the cookie to cool so I ate one while it was still warm. The cookie was soft and chewy with a “slight” crispy edge. In each mouthful I could taste the apples, the plump sweet raisins and walnuts, which gave the cookies a nice texture. The apples, walnuts raisins with the combination of spices all made for a wonderful cookie! I did notice that when I ate another cookie with the glaze that it had “softened” and was no longer crispy on the edges. It was still soft, chewy and great tasting! The cookie has a "muffin-like" texture. The glaze is not overly sweet and adds a nice touch to the cookies. Overall this is a lovely, nicely spiced soft, moist and chewy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This is an awesome cookie. Best apple cookie ever. Disappears very quickly here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kc1309
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
These were so amazing! I'm not a huge fan of baked apples but these cookies cured that! I made a few changes that were suggested by others. I grated 2 medium apples, used milk instead of half & half for the glaze and added cinnamon to the glaze. Half of the batch I left out the nuts and raisins and the other half I added walnuts. I baked them at 375 for 7-9 minutes then let them cool before I iced them. I took one reviewers advice about freezing the glaze for 15 minutes and my oh my did that works slick! I will be making these cookies very often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kc1309

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellsworth, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Yum! My husband just exclaimed "I love fall!" I used apples from my parents' tree in these yummy cookies. I followed the recipe as written and they turned out thin and chewy. Just perfect. I did bake them at 375 instead of 400 for 10 minutes. As another reviewer suggested, I added some cinnamon to the glaze and then just drizzled it over the cookies. These will become a fall tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I wouldn't bother. These were ONLY good for about three hours out of the oven. After they cooled, I plated them to bring to a party and covere loosely with plastic wrap. A few hours later they were mush and not edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Felgner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CANELSON
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Very good, nice and moist, but a little too sweet. I added less glaze too. Reminded me of Michigan in the fall :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
These are absolutely delicious!! They are so good frosted, but really dont need the frosting, as they are wonderful by themselves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This is a really nice Fall cookie. The apple I used was exceptionally sweet so I reduced the sugar to 1 & 1/8 cups, used butter, reduced the cloves and add some vanilla. I was careful not to over-mix and the cookies were nicely mounded. The icing would have made them more attractive but after tasting one decided it would have made them too sweet. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States