Glazed Apple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Not as successful as others write. Used 1/2 cup combined butter/shortening, baked at lower heat. Other than that, I followed the recipe. They taste good, but, do not look like the picture. They were lumpy looking. Very soft to form. Second batch, I put in fridge for a little while... still soft... added more flour. They still looked lumpy, not as shown in picture. Taste OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megs
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Made this gluten free by using Namaste GF flour blend without any other substitutions, turned out quite well. As the GF group knows, moist almost always equals chewy; however, this was not the case, though I recommend baking at the longer end and waiting until they cool to eat them. Also, for those of you have not used a glaze before , it is important to put the frosting on the cookie while warm, a dollop right on top and the heat will melt it right on the cookie. If you wait to frost the cookies when they are cool then a glaze is not your best option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I made these for a large gathering and they went over very well. I didn't change a thing other than I took them out of the oven after 9 minutes and thought they were perfect! The kids really loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Great taste. I was having trouble with the cookies coming out flat, even with the butter baking soda/power switch as other recommend. Chilling the batter and lowering the oven to 375 helped. Convention also seemed to help cook the centers faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Navarro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Followed recipe except did not use raisins and increased apples to 1.5 cups. These were Excellent! A couple of notes: If you ice the cookies immediately after they come out of the oven, you will have just enough icing; however, if you wait and ice the cookies after they cool, you might want to double the icing. Icing immediately after they come out of the oven is best because (1) the cookies are so soft they would be hard to frost if cooled (2) a little icing goes a long way, and (3) the melted icing almost spreads itself. Check the cookies after 8 minutes and then again at 9 minutes. At 400 degrees, they baked quickly. I will definitely make these again but will read the other reviewer's comments and see if anyone mentioned making changes so the cookies were not so much like a cake. They were EXCELLENT, but if left a room temperature, they were a little too soft...but I maybe the extra apples caused this ....?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dh31
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Baked at 375. Used Granny Smith apples. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
well we started making it but then when we were pouring it on the tray we forgot to put in 2 cups of flour so when it got cooked it turned too goop so i think it was a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Baking is relatively new to me. It's my "therapy" these days. My new motto is "If you can read, you can cook/bake." I use this site primarily to choose (mostly cookies) recipes. These cookies are delicious. They almost taste like glazed apple hermits. I baked them for 8-9 minutes so that I did not over bake them. My first batch (at 10 minutes) had blackish bottoms. Maybe from the greased cookie sheet? I think that I might use butter instead of shortning next time and maybe I won't grease the cookie sheet. Anyway, they were delicious! My boyfriend is my honest critic and gave them 4.5 stars. I am a bit more critical and rated them 3.5 stars. I did not use nuts this time, but plan to next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Used butter in place of shortening and 1/2 tsp each baking soda & powder instead of 1 tsp soda. Extra apples which I chopped in food processor and left out the walnuts. Piped the icing over top. These were cake-like and did have good flavor but just not outstanding. We did end up finishing them all which shows me that they are definitely good but with al the outstanding cookies out there I'm just not sure these are worth making again. If someone really just like apple cake-y type cookies then maybe. I added up all numbers at the end and I got a total of 44 cookies for 3 WW points each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
After reading the other reviews, I substituted butter for the shortening and baked at 375 for 10 - 11 minutes. I also waited to glaze until the cookie had cooled a bit. I think they are good and they passed the Hubby test! I said I'd make them again and he said he'd eat them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States