Glazed Apple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
After reading the other reviews, I substituted butter for the shortening and baked at 375 for 10 - 11 minutes. I also waited to glaze until the cookie had cooled a bit. I think they are good and they passed the Hubby test! I said I'd make them again and he said he'd eat them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Forgot the milk in the first batch & they were so good I will skip the milk next time completely. Soft and beautiful, so glad I tried this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and they were delicious. I found that they bake quickly and were done to perfection when the bottoms were brown but the tops did not look quite done. A little orange color to the glaze would add a nice touch for fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Everyone loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I made these GLUTEN and DAIRY-FREE! AND they were AMAZING. I just substituted Arrowhead Mills all-purpose gluten free flour (we find the garbanzo bean taste of the Bob Mills gluten free flour to be distasteful in baked goods),used Lou Ana coconut oil to replace the butter, and Thai brand coconut milk to replace the milk. I did find that I needed a lot more milk than the recipe called for to make it moist enough to mix. With just the 1/4 cup, it was literally still powdery (that may be due to the substitutions?). Also left out the raisins because I didn't have any. I even made the glaze with the coconut oil and Thai coconut milk, and it was GREAT. Can't imagine they could be better with real butter and milk! A note on substituting coconut oil and milk for those of us who are dairy-free: the brand is important. Lou Ana coconut oil and Thai coconut milk do not make your dishes taste like coconut. I have even made Southern style sausage gravy with this milk, and my Texan husband raved that it was better than his mom's! In other words, these did not taste like apple coconut cookies at all. The oil makes baked goods incredibly moist and the milk is thick and rich, and is wonderful to bake with :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Just took cookies out of the oven,,,,Flat as a pancake,definitely didn't look like picture...Worst cookie recipe I've ever tried!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I substituted coconut oil for shortening since I'm feeding this to a bunch of toddlers. One of them has a dairy allergy so I used coconut milk instead and crossed my fingers. The cookies taste great and I didn't make the glaze. For Halloween I'm going to make them into a pumpkin shape and use the raisins for the face.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I will give this recipe a 4 for flavor, but the texture was more soft and chewy than cake like. Followed the directions to a T. This was a very soft moist cookie dough, after the first batch spread ALOT, I put the cookie dough in the refrig. for about 1 hr.it did help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Very soft, no need for glaze but good with it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Thank you SO much for this recipe.....these cookies are amazing. My husband said they're the best cookies he's ever tasted! And I think he may be right! My daughter wants to make them for Santa this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States