Gizzards and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Great way to serve gizzards a new way! I put everything together on a large pan, cooked for 45 min., then added the rice. The tomatoes really made the gizzards tender..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I've been doing a version of this for years but in a crockpot since I want the gizzards nice and tender. Haven't served it to anyone who didn't like it even though they might claim they don't like gizzards
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This was very good! I usually just bread and fry my gizzards but decided to try this and I am not disappointed. I used some spiced tomatoes and white rice but otherwise just as instructed. This is great if you like gizzards to begin with but wont convert those who don't. I think it has more to do with texture rather than taste. I'll probably slowly change this up over time to make it my own but it is very good as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My boyfriend loved this meal, he went for second round...It was so easy to cook and yet very tasty...i loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
So yummy! I used the broth from the gizzards and I probably used a little more than 14.25 ounce, but the dish was great and I know we will have it again. I feel like if you omit the gizzards it would be an excellent side dish to chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This is an excellent starting point. I got the dish simmering (before adding the rice) and it seemed a little bland. I added about 1/4 cup red wine and 1 1/2 teaspoons dried tarragon. This really made the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
this was an excellent meal. i followed the recipe to the letter with just one exception i cooked the gizzards in the crockpot for 3 hours first. i had it with cornbread and peas and carrots and my husband said he had never had gizzards like that before and that he liked it my 3 year old even at it up. so again great recipe thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This was not to my liking, at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This is very tasty!!! This was my first time making a dish with gizzards AND my husband normally cooks. He was SOOOO impressed with this meal! Thank you soooo much for sharing this recipe with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This recipe came out very good. Only given it a 4 star because I didn't use any onio soup mix. If you read my other ratings they are either 4 or 5 stars, although my husband is somewhat picky he still likes all the recipes that I've tried. And if you see I usually substitute one thing with another but non the less they all come out tasting great and this one was one of them. Was still very good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States