Gisela's Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SouthAfricanSweetie
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
NOTE: There should only be the juice of 1 orange, plus the zest of same orange. I'm going to try and change it. Also, I have updated this recipe to use the new Knorr Homestyle Chicken Stock from concentrate--it's amazing! Much better than tinned chicken broth. Another variation I tried out yesterday was to fry up a bit of panchetta or bacon, and then cook the onion in the rendered fat instead of the butter. Then top each bowl with a little bit of the panchetta/bacon. It adds depth to the flavor and makes it positively delectable! Serve this soup with a dollop of sour cream or a drizzle of creme fraiche and a couple of croutons, or a side of garlic bread. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthAfricanSweetie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Yummy, yummy, yummy! Changes I made: I roasted the cubes of squash under the broiler, about 10 min, turning halfway through. I also added 2 cloves of garlic to the butter/onion mixture. And, I didn't have an orange, so I subbed in o.j. and no sour cream so I substituted plain Greek yogurt. Will make again! (found 2 lbs peeled, cubed butternut squash at Costco = super easy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn in AK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is so yummy and easy, we dont like curry and most of the other rec called for it, very good, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajandjer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Outstanding recipe! I roasted my squash first in the oven.I sliced them lengthwise, brushed them with olive oil and salt, and placed them flesh-side down at 350 degrees for 1 1/2 hours. I hate peeling squash, saves a lot of labor if you have the time for them to bake. Just scoop out the baked squash into the pot! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Very yummy. Only used juice of one orange as recipe calls for, didn't have sour cream so used cream cheese instead and had to all just a little bit of curry and cayenne. It was awesome and I will be making this again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kat
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
My husband and I really liked this soup! DS thought there was too much orange. can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Fantastic! I added a little of nutmeg and cinnamon at the end for a touch of flavoring...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Oh, this is such a wonderful butternut recipe. Not only is it simple and quick to make the taste is divine! The orange is the right amount of flavor, and the color is amazing. Just add a little chopped parsley and the presentation of this soup is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Used frozen butternut squash that was already cubed. Also a dash of cream instead of sour cream. I added some sage and ginger but powdered and some salt and pepper. Was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Congers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Nice summer soup recipe. I added a clove of garlic with the onion and used only one orange for zest and juice. Also added about 1/4 cup of cream and then garnished with the sour cream making a design and a parsley garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgbeck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States