Giovanna's Yummy Cheese Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and everyone raved about it. It was fast, easy and absolutely delicious. The only thing I would add the next time would be a touch of paprika or cayenne to add a little zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
We love onions, but found that when made according to the recipe this one comes up short. The cheese sauce was a little gooey from the flour, and when finished baking, the onions were not cooked enough. Perhaps I need more details in the directions about what to expect at various stages. All is not lost though as I may try it again with my own little tweeks like carmelizing the onions first and thinning the cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This was a great recipe. I served it with grilled beef tenderloin for Christmas dinner.If you like onions & cheese, you'll love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
Excellent taste & texture. Really enjoyed this casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This recipe was so delicious. It was cheesy,warm,and gooey.I couldn't stop eating it! :) It is a wonderful side dish for any occasion. And would be excellent with bite size peices of chicken in it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
I used Sweet Mayan Onions cuz that's all the store had. What a great new side dish! I'm an onion freak and this passed my test!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
My husband is NOT an onion-fan, and he just loved these. What a terrific side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
We enjoyed this. The only thing I did different was to use a little less flour and added garlic powder to the cheese mixture. Next time I think I will only put the breadcrumbs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
I've made this twice. First time cooked onions as directed, and the whole thing was runny. Second time I put the onions in the crockpot overnight, drained them and then made the casserole and got rave reviews. Numerous people asked for the recipe. I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Park

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
I made this for a famly dinner three Chrismas's ago. I've been asked to make it every Chrismas since and I believe everyone in the family has asked me for the recipe. Over the years, I have tweaked it a bit to my own liking. I double the white sauce and don't add the cheese to it. I layer the cheese in with the rest of the layers ending with cheese on top. If you like onions, you'll love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States