Ginny's Cheezy Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
ok, I have made this many times now and I know the problem some have. You must mix half the cheese with the UNCOOKED macaroni (and other spices, salt, pepper, garlic powder, bacon bits, etc) before you add the milk. Then top off with the remaining cheese and THEN add your milk. Do not cover the dish while cooking. Let it sit for at least 10 mins before serving. I find baking it a smaller...deeper dish comes out better or it may come out too dry. Like others, I added a lot of extra cheese, spices and half cup of milk. Cook for 50 mins at 350 and it comes out perfect every time. Don't be afraid to try this in a cast iron skillet as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jade
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Definitely an easy recipe, definitely tastes amazing. The only thing I didn't like so much was the lack of cheese spread throughout, I'm going to play with it a little bit next time though and I'll update my review. I don't know how it came out without letting it settle, but I let it settle for 10 minutes after baking it for 52 minutes (it was beginning to get a liiiittle too cooked) and there was no milky anything left over on the bottom. Even though the cheese wasn't through out, every noodle tasted amazing. I also used 3.5 cups of noodles and about twice the cheese suggested. Left the milk alone, used 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Would you believe my family prefers this over the time intensive one that uses a roux?! Like other reviewers I tweeked the recipe a tad. 2 tsp of mustard and a little garlic and onion powder definitely make a great flavor. If your budget allows add some fancy cheeses and your bound to be surprised and satisfied! Oh, and I use twice the cheese ;). I swear we eat this once a week now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Had to go to a potluck to serve 14! Stumbled upon this recipe. It was cost effective & Homemade! I followed ingredients but didn't use measuring tools also after mixing salt( fine sea salt),pepper and uncooked noodles(Shells). i decided to mix in 2 cans of cheddar soup as a binder and add a cheezy flavor before covering with cheese and and pouring in the milk. I didn't peak let cook for 60 min & let stand for 10 min. My sister and i tried a bite her response is that's "Good". If theirs any leftovers bring them home! Thanks for the amazing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I make this recipe all the time, both for my kids, and also for family meals. I really don't understand all the bad reviews. I make mine with REAL BUTTER and SKIM MILK. I use 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper, and I stir that in with the melted butter before stirring in the UNCOOKED macaroni, then top with cheese and milk. Mine bakes in about 45 minutes - when the cheese is good and browned, with a few places started to get burned looking, take it out. It will look like there is a lot of liquid left, but after it stands for 5-10 minutes out of the oven, that will go away. I change up what cheeses I use sometimes, too, but sharp cheddar is my favorite overall. It turns out perfect every single time. Maybe people are using full fat milk or cooking the macaroni first and that is the problem? I've never, ever had mine come out looking curddled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I am a seasoned soul food cook and this was TERRIBLE! Not creamy, not cheesy..,just awful and the white spots from the milk looks so unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
So simple and everyone in my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This was okay to us. I followed the recipe to the letter. What I didn't like was after baking, the milk looked like it had curdled. This was very unappealing to the eyes! My kids usually ask for seconds when it comes to mac and cheese, but not today. I think I will stick to my usual way of making mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I just tried this recipe and the only change I made was to warm up the milk in the microwave before pouring it all over the ingredients. It cut the cooking time by 10 minutes. It is simple,easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This recipe was incredibly easy to make. I did omit the salt and pepper for family health concerns. also I did use Soy milk because I can't digest milk. it turned out great. It is a good basic recipe that could be customized to add flavor if desired. It is my adult daughter's favorite. She has a sensitive stomach but can digest this one I will definitely keep this recipe among my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States