Ginny's Cauliflower and Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I made two changes to this: I used real mayonnaise because it has much less (& often none) sugar, and I couldn't find bacon bits so I used rather a lot of turkey bacon. I took this to a dinner & was told my my hosts that I was welcome ANY TIME...if I brought this salad. It is fabulous & I'm making it for my mother's wake tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Really liked this recipe, my picky husband did too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debi210

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is a great salad and I absolutely love the dressing but it turned out to be way too wet for my taste. I even cut down on the wet ingredients and still it was too wet. But I enjoyed it none-the-less. I left out the Splenda and seasoned salt though. (Splenda scares me, haha.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was awesome! I loved the dressing. I actually used light Miracle Whip in place of the Mayo. I added slightly more vinegar and mustard. I used real sugar. I used very little salt. Sunflower seeds and almonds add a great flavor and crunch to this recipe. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Very Good! Great to bring to family gatherings... they licked the bowl clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Loved it - even without the celery and bacon bits. Will make again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I love this recipe. I used fresh bacon which was low in salt.I aso added a dash of balsamic vinegar ater I tossed the dressing in.Next time I'm going to try some of the hot pepper flakes or cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Great salad - I made just a few minor tweaks to it: I blanched the cauliflower to make it not-quite-as-crunchy as raw (but still crisp), and cut the Splenda down a bit. Since I didn't have regular white vinegar, I used a white wine vinegar. After tasting it, I also added about a half a tablespoon of red pepper flakes to add a little zip as a foil to the sweetness. (We like "zip", so maybe a little less red pepper for those that don't. Very good on top of a bed of shredded lettuce too, for a whole meal. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
This is such a good idea. The ingredients are great for my dad's diabetic diet. And I thought it would taste great too-- until I got to the tablespoon of seasoned salt part. I hesitated, and then put in two teaspoons of salt instead of the tablespoon. WHOA! Too much! I tried to compensate by doubling all the other ingredients in the dressing-- but it was too late. I ran out of mayo and sour cream, and the salad looked more like soup by the time I finished. I do want to try this recipe again-- but next time I'll add the seasoned salt 1/2 teaspoon at a time until I find the right balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
My family couldn't get enough of this salad! It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Barb's Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

A classic salad with bacon bits, sunflower seeds, and a sweet and sour dressing.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States