Gingery Quinoa-Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Really good! The ginger, cinnamon and apple flavours with squash are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
So good! Didn't need any modification at all. I used a golden delicious apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I love this recipe! The flavors are wonderful and quinoa has a great lightness and fluffiness that acts as a fabulous base to present the gingery, spicy flavors of the mixture. I have a friend who has a restricted gluten-free diet but always loved the flavors and coziness of stuffing so this has been popular with her, but also with the rest of the potluck crowd when I have made it. I love how versatile the dish is too - you can substitute margarine for the butter and eliminate the cheese to make it a vegan dish; you can add nuts or a dried fruit (currants for example) to the stuffing; you can experiment with other kinds of cheese (I've used goat before and it worked well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marmarwebber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is a wonderful dish! I've served it at fall/winter dinners when we have large gatherings. Cutting each into quarters allows for a sampling of flavor rather than it being a full meal. The combination of flavors is always a pleasant surprise for guests...yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brigitte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I didn't measure anything out, except the quinoa, of which I only used 1/2 cup (precooked). This turned out absolutely delicious, and although it wasn't my first time eating quinoa, it was my first time eating acorn squash. And I can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow! :) By the way, I preroasted 4 squash halves, and with reducing the quinoa, the amount was perfect for the squash I had. Thanks for a great recip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is very tasty. I recommend cutting back on the ginger and cinnamon a tad....I made it with the amounts called for and feel it needed less of each. I had a very small apple-so in addition to the apple I added some dried cherries which I soaked first in white wine. I used the white wine instead of vinegar called for. I also used parmesan cheese instead of mozzarella because that is what I had on hand. It turned out perfectly! I topped the dish with chopped toasted almonds before serving......so good. My hubby and I both enjoyed this dish and will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelleResa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Will definitely make again. I substituted carrots for the celery. I agree with a couple other reviewers about cutting hack on the ginger. Other than that, I thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I love this recipe every time I make it. Sometimes I add more veggies, sometimes I make more quinoa. One thing I've always found, my cup runneth over. There's always way more filling than could possibly fit into two acorn squash halves. In fact this time around, the squash was a little smaller than I've normally used, so I'm not stuffing them at all, just scooping all the squash I can into the pan to stir in. This is a favourite. Just a note, I decided I wanted it for lunch tomorrow, so I'm just finishing cooking, and it's almost midnight. It's THAT good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mgamble79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Did not add any sugar and it was still fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Markita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This dish is wonderful. As the name implies it is full of ginger flavor. My boyfriend thought the ginger would be overpowering (whereas I LOVE ginger). Turns out he thought it was perfect and I think it might be a bit much. However, the ginger is a perfect match to the apples. This is a very inexpensive dish. Especially if you already have the quinoa on hand, as we did. The quinoa comes out so fluffly. Yes, you have extra stuffing which we are going to serve as a breakfast side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States