Gingery Quinoa-Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This is a great recipe, I cook my squash in the microwave and then get everything else ready. I would suggest reducing the amount of sugar a little bit, it can be slightly sweet. The mozarella cheese is a good complement to the flavors in the squash. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I love this recipe! The flavors are wonderful and quinoa has a great lightness and fluffiness that acts as a fabulous base to present the gingery, spicy flavors of the mixture. I have a friend who has a restricted gluten-free diet but always loved the flavors and coziness of stuffing so this has been popular with her, but also with the rest of the potluck crowd when I have made it. I love how versatile the dish is too - you can substitute margarine for the butter and eliminate the cheese to make it a vegan dish; you can add nuts or a dried fruit (currants for example) to the stuffing; you can experiment with other kinds of cheese (I've used goat before and it worked well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marmarwebber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
So good! Didn't need any modification at all. I used a golden delicious apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I was a bit disappointed. This is missing something- perhaps some vegetable or chicken broth (or even apple cider?) poured over the squash while it is in the oven for the last time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I only give this 4 stars because hubby wasn't crazy about it, but I thought it was fantastic. I didn't have any fresh ginger on hand so used powdered, but can't wait to try it again with the real stuff -maybe when he's out of town ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
i think i overestimated what 2 inches of ginger looks like - so i docked the recipe a star because i feel like it should have measured the ginger in something like tablespoons... mine came out so gingery i couldn't even eat it - and i love ginger! my husband ate it though... and i really liked the rest of it though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This recipe was mediocre to my tastes. I am not a big fan of quinoa but I was hoping to find a recipe that helped me enjoy it. Also I found that a whole piece of ginger was way too overpowering and less than half would be adequate. If I make this again I'll substitute brown rice for the quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Very good. I wasn't sure if the flavors would work together, but they did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
The recipe makes enough stuffing for 2 acorn squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is a wonderful dish! I've served it at fall/winter dinners when we have large gatherings. Cutting each into quarters allows for a sampling of flavor rather than it being a full meal. The combination of flavors is always a pleasant surprise for guests...yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brigitte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States