Gingery Mung Bean Sprouts Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Yummy. I needed more water than stated to make a batter, but I was using whole wheat flour (all I had). Squeezing the mung bean sprouts as I dropped them in crumbled many nicely while leaving some whole. I omitted the sesame/veggie oil mixture, instead spraying a nonstick pan lightly with cooking spray and sprinkling a mixture of bonito flakes, kelp and toasted sesame seeds on the top side. I just put some more tamari on top to eat. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Thank you Kaoru! This recipe was delicious. I used all purpose flour almost double the mung bean sprouts and 1/2 cup of shredded carrots. It turned out perfect with some cayenne pepper sprinkled on top with tamari for dipping. Very low-calorie too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I really enjoyed this! It was very different from anything I've had before. I used all-purpose flour because that's all that I had on hand. I thought I was going to need to add more water, but my bean sprouts were still quite wet from when I washed them, so that added enough moisture. I served the pancakes with a little sriracha on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
great quick recipe. i might have used too much ginger and soy sauce. definitely gingery, so use less if you're not the biggest fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I gave it 3 stars. These have the potential to be great, but the recipe really needs some help. I added more water too, but the pancakes were too Tamari/ginger intesive w/ little else to offer. Photo looks great, I want THAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Delicious with dark green cabbage leaves layered in between 2 pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Delicious pancake! I incorporated the chili powder into the pancake. I used zesty sprouts instead of mung bean sprouts, and whole wheat flour instead of barley flour. I have started my next batch of sprouts to be able to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I definitely had to add some more water. This is a simple spicy taste of Asia. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
a little strange... I can't decide if I like it or not?! It needed more water (enough to make a batter). I didn't have the right sauce, so I substituted it with Tokastu sauce instead. Also added some toasted sesame seeds. Needed a bit of salt, and we dipped it in some sushi/sashimi style soy sauce. My husband thought it kinda tasted like something you might find in a bar Japan (although never came across it while living there) Might make again, only as a way to use up leftover sprouts, would not go buy them just of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Great new breakfast staple for me. Nice crunchy texture. Here are the changes I made . . . 1 tbs powdered ginger 1tbs soy sauce 1/8 tsp kosher salt 6 tbs pancake mix 1/4 cup water 1cup mung sprouts 2 tsp hazelnut oil ( all that I had) 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon 1/4 tsp smoked paprika 7 or 8 whole cardamom seed pods shelled and ground in a stone pedestal and added to mixture Pinch of fennel seeds popped in the hot oil before adding the mixture Heat oil to just barely smirking before adding mixture Serve with a side of canned peaches, fruit preserves, or horseradish creamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States