Gingery Mung Bean Sprouts Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Yummy. I needed more water than stated to make a batter, but I was using whole wheat flour (all I had). Squeezing the mung bean sprouts as I dropped them in crumbled many nicely while leaving some whole. I omitted the sesame/veggie oil mixture, instead spraying a nonstick pan lightly with cooking spray and sprinkling a mixture of bonito flakes, kelp and toasted sesame seeds on the top side. I just put some more tamari on top to eat. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Thank you Kaoru! This recipe was delicious. I used all purpose flour almost double the mung bean sprouts and 1/2 cup of shredded carrots. It turned out perfect with some cayenne pepper sprinkled on top with tamari for dipping. Very low-calorie too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I really enjoyed this! It was very different from anything I've had before. I used all-purpose flour because that's all that I had on hand. I thought I was going to need to add more water, but my bean sprouts were still quite wet from when I washed them, so that added enough moisture. I served the pancakes with a little sriracha on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
great quick recipe. i might have used too much ginger and soy sauce. definitely gingery, so use less if you're not the biggest fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I gave it 3 stars. These have the potential to be great, but the recipe really needs some help. I added more water too, but the pancakes were too Tamari/ginger intesive w/ little else to offer. Photo looks great, I want THAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Delicious with dark green cabbage leaves layered in between 2 pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Delicious pancake! I incorporated the chili powder into the pancake. I used zesty sprouts instead of mung bean sprouts, and whole wheat flour instead of barley flour. I have started my next batch of sprouts to be able to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I definitely had to add some more water. This is a simple spicy taste of Asia. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
a little strange... I can't decide if I like it or not?! It needed more water (enough to make a batter). I didn't have the right sauce, so I substituted it with Tokastu sauce instead. Also added some toasted sesame seeds. Needed a bit of salt, and we dipped it in some sushi/sashimi style soy sauce. My husband thought it kinda tasted like something you might find in a bar Japan (although never came across it while living there) Might make again, only as a way to use up leftover sprouts, would not go buy them just of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Great new breakfast staple for me. Nice crunchy texture. Here are the changes I made . . . 1 tbs powdered ginger 1tbs soy sauce 1/8 tsp kosher salt 6 tbs pancake mix 1/4 cup water 1cup mung sprouts 2 tsp hazelnut oil ( all that I had) 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon 1/4 tsp smoked paprika 7 or 8 whole cardamom seed pods shelled and ground in a stone pedestal and added to mixture Pinch of fennel seeds popped in the hot oil before adding the mixture Heat oil to just barely smirking before adding mixture Serve with a side of canned peaches, fruit preserves, or horseradish creamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States