Gingery Fish Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This was so good. We had this with fresh salmon for supper 1 evening last week. We will have it again tonight. The only thing I did different was to thicken it with arrowroot powder instead of cornstarch, and my part had bell pepper instead of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Mc Conahy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I made this for dinner last night and this was AMAZING!! I made some changes to suit my taste: I used organic portabello mushrooms, purple onions (as the recipe calls for) and pineapple chunks for skewers, in addition to the salmon. I seasoned my salmon lightly with sea salt and a little garlic old bay seasoning for seafood (not the traditional old bay seasoning). I also lightly seasoned my mushrooms with garlic powder and sea salt. The sauce was ok, but for my taste it was not sweet enough, so I added a little honey and a little brown sugar, and WALLAH, the most amazing sauce presented itself! J I also bypassed the marinating piece, since it took a while to chop all the vegetables, make the sauce, etc. Instead, I spooned the sauce on each kabob, and placed the kabobs under the boiler, turning once, when the first side was lightly browned. I almost forgot, I also simmered the pineapples chunks in the sauce and used these pineapples for the kabobs; it only took a minute or two for the pineapples to cool down to handle. I served with organic Basmati rice and broccoli. It was so amazingly good, I can't wait for dinner tonight! :) P.S. I made about a little over two pounds of salmon; doubled the ingredients and used three portobello mushrooms, and used two cans of pineapple chunks for the juice and chunks! This made about 15 kabobs in total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
We were not big fans of this recipe. It seemed a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Such a fantastic marinade! I used yellow fin tuna steak chunks with orange bell pepper, red onion, and pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hobart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I would give this more stars if I could! WOW! We are from Miami and liken this to our favorite dish at our very favorite seafood restaurant- Captain's Tavern. We made this with grilled (frozen) yellowtail (from a catch 2 weeks ago) and served with reduced marinade on top of the fish. We accompanied it with black beans and rice (just like our favorite restaurant) and- voila!- we had one of the most GOURMET meals we've ever made at home! Definitely impressive enough to serve to any VIP guest! No joke. My husband was blown away- as was I. A+++!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Hummmmmmmy...By far, the best grilled fish recipe I've ever had! I forgot to marinade the fish (used freshly caught grouper), so I made sure we kept basting the fish every few minutes on the grill. We placed the kabobs on top of a grilling plate and I'm glad we did - a few pieces would fall off every time we rotated them on the grill. I also added whole mushrooms to the recipe - thought this was a must! We had guests over that aren't big fish eaters and they devoured these...make sure to have atleast 3 kabobs per person! This is now my #1 fish recipe and will definitely try it with other fish and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Yummy. I was lazy and fried it up in my wok as a stir-fry. Added water chestnuts and sliced bell pepper and served over rice. Won't know if leftovers reheat well because Hubby and kids devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Zen Witch

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This was pretty good. I used frozen tuna instead of fresh, and substituted 3/4 tsp. ground ginger for fresh...the flavors all worked well together. Next time i may try the "fresher" ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
Very good. I was worried that the onion wouldn't be cooked, so I used canned pearl onions, which worked well. I will definitely make this again, although next time I will marinate longer, I didn't think the marinade imparted much of its flavor in only 30 minutes. Even so, I was very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Kabobs Mexicana

Tender, juicy, grilled chicken skewers with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Sensational Sirloin Kabobs

Sirloin steak cubes marinated in a soy-based sauce and grilled with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States