Gingery Carrot Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Really glad I made this for a pot luck. Just a few changes to suit my taste. Used canola oil, honey, dried cranberries and just a little more salt. Added cilantro which was suggested. I made it the night before and added the cilantro in the morning. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I'm always looking for new things to do with carrots and this sounded like a great summer salad. I used craisins instead of raisins (personal preference) and served with Asian salmon. We found it enjoyable, but nothing we would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
My wife says we will grate the carrots the next time, but we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebutt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Wow, really tasty! I used white vinegar, regular sugar, and left out the raisins, which shows this recipe is flexible. These are sweet without being sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Used this as basic recipe. Used uncut baby carrots; subbed red wine vinegar; subbed honey; subbed regular salt and pepper; left out raisins; added cilantro as others suggested. All spices were Penzey's dried. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Mixed carrots with brown rice and fresh tuna. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Very good. I made it with 1 tablespoon of honey instead of the Splenda, and I used heirloom carrots to make it prettier. A hit. As someone else did, I may use dried cranberries instead of raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Wasn't real crazy about this. Kids tasted it but refused to eat it (3 and 5 yr). I think it has potential if it had more of an asia emphasis - maybe a little sweeter, rice vinegar instead of cider, omit garlic and cumin? Not sure. I will probably try a different recipe altogether next time than trying to modify this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I liked this more than my husband did. It's just the two of us so there were lots of leftovers, and we got a bit sick of them after a couple of days. Never the less, I usually am not a huge carrot fan and I liked this different way to eat them - fresh, tasty, spicy/sweet/sour. Will probably make again, but halve the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I have prepared this several times and it is very good. People who were certain they would hate it, really liked it . I have always used sugar because that is what I had but will try honey. I use raw carrots and shred them in the food processor. I found the small shred to be better that the longer shred. It seems to absorb the flavors better and is neater to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States