Gingersnap Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I am not a pumpkin pie fan, but the holidays mean I have to offer it. The first time I made this, I mistakenly bought pumpkin pie filling instead of plain pumpkin, so I used the recipe on the Libby's can. Baking time was right on for this mixture to set, and the crust really adds some zip to counter what I think is the bland mushiness of pumpkin filling. I'm still not wild about pumpkin pie, but I happily finished my slice. I would give four stars for the crust alone, but the second time, we used the filling recipe here. As one reviewer pointed out, it did not look set. I let it bake about 15 minutes longer, but unfortunately, the extra time scorched the entire crust. When I make this again, I will follow that reviewer's advice to use the baking time suggested and let the pie completely set out of the oven. Or I'll just use the Libby's mixture again. The crumb crust takes up more room in the pan than a regular pie crust, and this recipe makes three times the amount of filling needed for one, non-deep-dish, 9-inch pie. Next time I will either increase the crust recipe or decrease the filling amount. Given the issue with the filling setting, I wouldn't recommend using a deep-dish pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
The crust was a little soggy and just too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
It's a great idea and I'm glad I found it as I was soo not into making a pie crust this year. But I need to say that the crust burnt before the pie was finished baking, within about 45 minutes, 15 short of the hour recommended. I'd just watch the timing and maybe take it out even earlier next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I served this pie for christmas. Everyone seemed to love it. The spice crust added lots of flavor to the old pumkin pie. I took the suggestions of baking the the crust longer to keep it from turning out soggy but it didn't work for me. I would prefer to crispier crust but my husband love it chewy/firm. My father stated that he love how it was chewy like candy. When the pie was a day old the crust became more crispy.(strange) This pie is worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
The only negative was that the crust was soggy. And I don't know how to correct this...perhaps pre-baking crust longer??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I used only the gingersnap crust portion of this recipe (I have my own pumpkin pie filling recipe), and it was fantastic! I did need to add an additional Tbl of butter to the crust to make it press into the pan without crumbling. The 2nd time I made this, I left off the sugar (the cookies have plenty!). Would do that again! One tip is to pour the filling almost all the way to the edge, that way, not so much crust is showing (the molasses in the cookies makes the crust look burned, although it isn't). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Compared to other pumpkin pies, this one was overflowing with flavor. It was a hit, but I personally disliked the crust. It was soggy, and I couldn't get over the taste to enjoy the pie. I only ended up eating a few bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haley James

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Really tasty! I appreciated the review which mentioned the filling would still be watery, as I would have let it overbake otherwise. At the suggestion of other reviewers, I also added ground cloves, in addition to the other spices. Anyway, my crust was a little hard on the bottom edge, where the crust bends up the sides, difficult to cut through and bite. Otherwise, it was great. Love the combination of flavors. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
So much healthier than crusts made with shortening or lard, and everyone loved this pie! Said they preferred by far to traditional Pumpkin Pie. I used only 2 T. butter and baked my crust about 10 minutes because my gingersnaps were stale. I also used fresh ground clove instead of nutmeg. I had 8 3/4" pie tin, and had to bake 1 hr 10 m. This my new Pumpkin Pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States