Gingered Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This tea was extremely flavorful and is a great choice for a chilly evening in autumn. I didn't have any honey, so I substituted that for maple syrup. Also, I didn't have any ground ginger, so I substituted ground allspice for that. I used 3/4 cup liquid chai tea from a carton and the 3/4 cup milk and put it in the microwave for two minutes. I simmered the allspice and the maple syrup like you were supposed to for 10 minutes and then added the mixture to the chai and milk. Delicious! I would give it a higher rating if I had the proper ingredients and knew how it was supposed to actually taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I didn't like the taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
good but, heres a much better recipe..grate fresh ginger (at least 1 tsp), add to hot boiling water in a cup. add honey if desired. when i want to increase my fluid intake on cold days, i drink cup after cup of this. i dont use honey or tea bags to omit calories and caffeine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Crimmins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
made me feel all warm n fuzzy :) i used fresh ginger instead of powder and put in peppermint tea, as its what i'm used to. also added just one tsp honey. will make again when weather gets chilly or when my throat starts thumpin'. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I'm really sick and needed something to help soothe my aching throat and comfort my sore body. I used black tea bags and let them soak a little longer, as I like a stronger tea. I was shocked that my kids also liked this, they begged for more. I think the ginger is a little overpowering, next time I may cut back a little and I might add a little cinnamon and nutmeg. This was very comforting. I'm still surprized my kids liked this! NOTE: I did use NF milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I do not care for this at all... I agree with the reviewer that said it tastes like warm milk. The ginger made it bitter, and it barely has a tea taste. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I just made this tea my "regular" way of pouring boiling water over the tea bag, honey, and ginger. I added the milk after the tea steeped a bit. Found this is to be an unusual taste combination, perhaps because I used Earl Grey tea. I'll try again using black tea, because I did think it was a soothing drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I made this to soothe swollen vocal chords. Used fresh, thinly sliced ginger boiled in water. Delicious stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I find this tea very soothing on the nerves and stomach, I always use Earl Gray tea bags and Acacia honey because it tastes the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I'm sorry, maybe this recipe calls for an aquired taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danielsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States