Gingered Pork Chops in Orange Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made this exactly as described. Maybe it was the fresh orange juice, but when I tasted the sauce it reminded me strongly of acidic vomit. I was worried that I would not be able to serve this. I doctored the sauce using brown sugar, soy sauce, garlic powder, worstershire, and some corn starch to thicken. It began to taste like sweet and sour sauce. The end product was OK over basmati rice, but we did not care for the meat. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSHERI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I just tried this one and it had a nice flavor a little muted but nice. The one thing I did not like at all was the flour made it slimy. I think I will try it next time without the flour and just rub the seasoning on before browning. I think I will also try using concentrated OJ and just a little water to give a more intense flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noble, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I found this recipe about 5 minutes before I was going to start cooking up some pork steaks for dinner. I wanted something a bit different, and found this simple and tasty recipe! It worked out beautifully! I changed the recipe a bit to yield just two servings. I'm not that big of an onion fan, but after baking in the orange juice for 45 minutes, the onions were so delicious! I poured a bit of the orange juice sauce over basmati rice and served it with these very delicious pork steaks. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa Beth Salois

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Living In: Reading, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
My family loved this and my teenager wants me to cook it again. I was surprised at how tender the meat was but this may be due to the fact that I used thin pork chops instead of thick. I added some garlic powder to the flour and chopped garlic to the onion saute. To add thickness to the sauce, I sprinkled the remaining flour mixture onto the browned pork chops and mixed it in with the orange juice sauce. Because the pork chops were thinner, I reduced the cooking time to 30 minutes. the chops were so tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
My husband liked this, I thought it was awful. I absolutely will not be making this again. The worst part is that we still have two more pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I tried this last night. It was okay but not so good that I would make it again. Too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I can only bring myself to give this three stars. I had high hopes as the smell of this dish while in the oven was wonderfully overwhelming, but was a bit dissapointed that the flavor was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I thought this had a ton of flavor. I made this recipe in half. I marinated my chops for a couple of hours in a splash of brandy, a squeeze of fresh OJ, some ginger and some of the sliced onions. I dried them off and dredged them as the recipe calls for. The rest I followed pretty much as the recipe states, only without measuring too precisely. My chops turned out very tender and flavorful. I served them with a side of baked rice pilaf. The sauce from the chops was fabulous with the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hefziba
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
The smell in my kitchen while this pork chops are baked, it is amazing! I didn't used flour, instead ground cloves just enough to rub them with two drops of olive oil. Also used half of yellow onion and other half of red onion.. 1/4 cup Brandy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hefziba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This recipe was all right. It is not a favorite, but something I would make every now and then just for something different. I have made it twice -- once following the directions as is and the second making some tweaks. The first time the orange taste was just too strong, and there was just something that didn't work for my family -- although I am not really sure what it was. We didn't really dislike it, but we didn't love it either. We liked the second go-around much better. I dropped the flour, onions, olive oil, and brandy altogether and mixed together the following: 1/2 cup orange juice, ginger, salt, pepper, 1-teaspoon sage, half a packet of Lipton Golden Onion Soup Mix, splash of red wine, and added a tablespoon of brown sugar. I then let my chops marinate in this mixture for an hour before covering them and baking them at 350 for about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States