Gingered Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Very easy and fast, healthy, and tastes wonderful. Restaurant quality. It has quite a bit of kick from the ginger :) I also added about a teaspoon of curry powder, and it compliments the soup very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Excellent, easy recipe, also very easy to customize. I double the amount of ginger and cumin and its a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
My husband & I really enjoyed all the spiciness of the ginger in this recipe. He loves carrots, so it was a win ,win. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I used this recipe as a starting point, and then like so many others, adapted it to make it right for our family. I made a lower calorie version of this recipe. I sliced and peeled 7 lbs of carrots and 2 large onions. I boiled these in 4 quarts of vegetable broth, along with a medium sized piece of fresh ginger that I shredded into the pot. I just wanted a hit of ginger in my soup, so I'd say I only used about 1/4-1/3 cup of ginger for the entire batch. When the vegetables were soft, I used my immersable blender to make everything pureed. Then I added about a quart of fat free half and half. This can be as thick or thin as you like by using more or less veggie broth. Salt and pepper to taste. It was delicious and perfect as is, or add a dollop of sour cream and a few croutons if you don't mind the extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Absolutely wonderful soup! Tasted very much like the Carrot Ginger soup served at the Four Seasons Hotel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tish Phillips

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Excellent soup... absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Made with vegetable stock for a work luncheon and it was a hit. Not a bit leftover. Add a dash of cayenne for some spice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Needs something to give it some "pop" not sure what
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This soup has become a fall and winter favourite at my house. My husband isn't a huge fan of carrots but he still loves it. I typically use an entire medium-sized onion and double the amount of garlic. I've used evaporated milk, cream, and 1% milk for this recipe and I don't find there's much of a difference. I've never felt the need to add extra salt. Oh, and I use the full four cups of broth called for in the recipe list and I find it's plenty thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I'll make it again. Next time I'll add sweet potatoes or apples to give it a little sweeter flavor and I'll puree it longer (I still had some little bits, would have liked it more smoothed out.) The carrots I used may have been a little old or something b/c the soup tasted kind of bitter. I added some orange juice and cinnamon and that helped. The comments about using the amount of broth mentioned in the directions as opposed to the amount in the ingredient list were helpful. I also used about half as much ginger and it still had plenty of ginger taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States