Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
I don't like to give any recipe a bad review, but since I myself rely on the comments of others I feel I have no choice. I made this exactly as the recipe said, and I used a cookie stamp that I have on 1" balls. The cookies are tasteless, heavy and not sweet enough, nor is there enough spice to give credit to the name. They have hardened, and won't even soften with 'dunkin' in tea or coffee. Will definetely never make these again. Sorry Maura, this one just didn't cut it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Should be corrected: this recipe is specifically for gingerbread houses as it is, like the other reviewer stated heavy and hard, but as you would think walls should be. I would find a chewier recipe for cookies, but for gingerbread walls, roof and other structures, this is perfect: )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
As stated, this is a recipe for making decorations, not for eating! And for it's purpose it is great! I used it to with a star cookie cutter to make ornaments for my tree, and they're very sturdy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This is my favorite gingerbread recipe for making gingerbread houses! I've tried several other recipes and they're either too sticky or too crumbly. This one is great for detailed carve-outs, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Well I changed the recipe dramatically because I needed to triple it for my daughters birthday party and didn't have enough molasses and than I accidentally added powdered sugar(the flour bin and powdered sugar bin are really similar :} ) By tripling it I was able to eek out 9 mini houses. It tastes fine and was very easy to work with! I will be putting the houses together tomorrow and the girls will decorate at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I made my first gingerbread house using this recipe. Easy to make & very sturdy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This recipe worked great for our house. This was my first gingerbread house, just what I needed. Just be sure you cook it long enough, comes out nice and stiff when you do, we added a few mins to our cooking time. Not to eat obviously, it wouldn't taste good, we used McCormicks recipe for making men, it's outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was great using my molds, but, I used butter instead of shortening. The taste is better but you need to work hard at getting it out of the mold. Still it tasted great with the glaze I made. These are ginger Cinnamon Shortbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I hate to give this recipe a bad rating because they are actually quite good, they just aren't gingerbread cookies. They are closer to molasses cookies in taste and ginger snaps in crispiness. If you listed this recipe as "Crispy molasses cookies" it gets 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
The gingerbread is so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States