Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Should be corrected: this recipe is specifically for gingerbread houses as it is, like the other reviewer stated heavy and hard, but as you would think walls should be. I would find a chewier recipe for cookies, but for gingerbread walls, roof and other structures, this is perfect: )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
As stated, this is a recipe for making decorations, not for eating! And for it's purpose it is great! I used it to with a star cookie cutter to make ornaments for my tree, and they're very sturdy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I made my first gingerbread house using this recipe. Easy to make & very sturdy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Well I changed the recipe dramatically because I needed to triple it for my daughters birthday party and didn't have enough molasses and than I accidentally added powdered sugar(the flour bin and powdered sugar bin are really similar :} ) By tripling it I was able to eek out 9 mini houses. It tastes fine and was very easy to work with! I will be putting the houses together tomorrow and the girls will decorate at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This is my favorite gingerbread recipe for making gingerbread houses! I've tried several other recipes and they're either too sticky or too crumbly. This one is great for detailed carve-outs, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This recipe worked great for our house. This was my first gingerbread house, just what I needed. Just be sure you cook it long enough, comes out nice and stiff when you do, we added a few mins to our cooking time. Not to eat obviously, it wouldn't taste good, we used McCormicks recipe for making men, it's outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This is my favorite recipe for gingerbread houses. This has been part of our holiday tradition for 3 years now. It bakes up very hard and sturdy. I believe it would not be good for eating. LOVE it for our houses :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
The gingerbread is so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was great using my molds, but, I used butter instead of shortening. The taste is better but you need to work hard at getting it out of the mold. Still it tasted great with the glaze I made. These are ginger Cinnamon Shortbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I hate to give this recipe a bad rating because they are actually quite good, they just aren't gingerbread cookies. They are closer to molasses cookies in taste and ginger snaps in crispiness. If you listed this recipe as "Crispy molasses cookies" it gets 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States