Gingerbread Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I have made these 5 times and everyone loves them and asks for the recipe I followed the recipe and they come put perfect every time thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Highly recommend following Chef John's advice of weighing your flour to be absolutely sure. Followed recipe exactly and the "pies" turned out fantastic and utterly delicious! Cookie stayed moist with a strong but very pleasant molasses flavor. Filling was perfect, smooth and overall not too sweet. Chef John, you are one of my absolute FAVORITES. Every one of your recipes I have made has turned out marvelous. Your personal style lends to the intuitiveness of your most helpful videos, even to a neonatal-novice like myself. And I SO enjoy your charming humor! Thanks again Chef!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frankifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Great recipe! The combination of gingerbread and the cream cheese filling is delicious. I recommend using more filling per pie than you think is necessary (it can get a little lost in the fluffy cakes) and using a toothpick to keep it together while it firms up in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brian S
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I watched chef John's video and followed his recipe exactly as written. Well, almost exactly - I doubled the recipe for a class party. These were easy to put together with very little mess. The cakes baked up in the expected amount of time. The size came out very consistent using my cookie scoop! A stand mixer came in very handy for putting the filling together. I gave it some time on high speed to make sure it was properly fluffy (watch the video). I took the completed pies to a class of 5th graders for their holiday party and most of the kids finished them. After just one bite, one boy exclaimed "I will have an order of 20!" He followed up with my daughter later to ensure they could be delivered after the holiday break :). At home, we put the extras to good use. The gingerbread flavor was present but not overpowering. The combination of the gingerbread cake and the cream cheese filling was light and the textures perfect. Overall, a great dessert! The doubled recipe made 28 complete whoopie pies. The cream however, was probably 50% more than what was needed. No problem, we will just make more whoopie(s)! We appreciated the video as it was instructive and a good length. Our 5th grader did not appreciate his quirky sense of humor, but then that was not the intended audience. We will be looking for more of your recipes. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian S
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Stumbled upon this recipe and I'm glad I did! They are delicious. My son has requested more. He said they are "AMAZING" ! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I had to make these twice, I mistakenly used a measuring cup & measured out 10oz.of flour, when I reread the directions I saw the footnote from the chef, so thought I could just add the remainder of the flour to measure 2 cups, the cake came out like a Pfeffernusse,So I tried again using 1 1/2 cups of flour & they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Good but don't cook for 12 min, learned the hard way on the first batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These are delicious but very much like a cookie. I would have loved for a cake like puffy whoopie pie. The filling is delicious and plentiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
The gingerbread didnt rise. I used a scoop & these were 2x the size they should be. The filling was too liquidy & I tried to save it with more powdered sugar but I didn't want to use the rest of my powdered sugar. It was some what better after sticking it in the fridge for a bit. These were a disaster & no one ate a complete cookie but me. Everyone took a few bites & didn't like them, lucky to my sweet tooth I ate the entire batch. I'm going to try another gingerbread recipe & frosting, I'll stay away from gingerbread whoopie pies. I didn't read till later to weigh the flour & it would have been an option but I'll pass, thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I tried these and the cake did not rise. Not what I was expecting. luckily my husband will eat them as cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States