Gingerbread Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
The gingerbread was a flop for me and I didn't care for the taste. The cookies didn't rise. I'm sure it was because the flour is given in pounds instead of cups and my scale may have been off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I have made these 5 times and everyone loves them and asks for the recipe I followed the recipe and they come put perfect every time thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These are delicious but very much like a cookie. I would have loved for a cake like puffy whoopie pie. The filling is delicious and plentiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I tried these and the cake did not rise. Not what I was expecting. luckily my husband will eat them as cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I had to make these twice, I mistakenly used a measuring cup & measured out 10oz.of flour, when I reread the directions I saw the footnote from the chef, so thought I could just add the remainder of the flour to measure 2 cups, the cake came out like a Pfeffernusse,So I tried again using 1 1/2 cups of flour & they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
The gingerbread didnt rise. I used a scoop & these were 2x the size they should be. The filling was too liquidy & I tried to save it with more powdered sugar but I didn't want to use the rest of my powdered sugar. It was some what better after sticking it in the fridge for a bit. These were a disaster & no one ate a complete cookie but me. Everyone took a few bites & didn't like them, lucky to my sweet tooth I ate the entire batch. I'm going to try another gingerbread recipe & frosting, I'll stay away from gingerbread whoopie pies. I didn't read till later to weigh the flour & it would have been an option but I'll pass, thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Great recipe! The combination of gingerbread and the cream cheese filling is delicious. I recommend using more filling per pie than you think is necessary (it can get a little lost in the fluffy cakes) and using a toothpick to keep it together while it firms up in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Stumbled upon this recipe and I'm glad I did! They are delicious. My son has requested more. He said they are "AMAZING" ! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Good but don't cook for 12 min, learned the hard way on the first batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Highly recommend following Chef John's advice of weighing your flour to be absolutely sure. Followed recipe exactly and the "pies" turned out fantastic and utterly delicious! Cookie stayed moist with a strong but very pleasant molasses flavor. Filling was perfect, smooth and overall not too sweet. Chef John, you are one of my absolute FAVORITES. Every one of your recipes I have made has turned out marvelous. Your personal style lends to the intuitiveness of your most helpful videos, even to a neonatal-novice like myself. And I SO enjoy your charming humor! Thanks again Chef!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frankifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States