Gingerbread Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
There are many varieties of whoopie pies and I’ve learned you judge whoopie pies on what you are used to. I’m still a big fan of the chocolate whoopie pie but this was nice variation for the fall. The cake portion in wonderful, especially if eaten the following day allowing the spices to meld. The cream center was way too sweet for me and I would substitute the filling I use on my regular whoopie pies. Other than that, it was a nice treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
The gingerbread was a flop for me and I didn't care for the taste. The cookies didn't rise. I'm sure it was because the flour is given in pounds instead of cups and my scale may have been off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I have made these 5 times and everyone loves them and asks for the recipe I followed the recipe and they come put perfect every time thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These are delicious but very much like a cookie. I would have loved for a cake like puffy whoopie pie. The filling is delicious and plentiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I tried these and the cake did not rise. Not what I was expecting. luckily my husband will eat them as cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I had to make these twice, I mistakenly used a measuring cup & measured out 10oz.of flour, when I reread the directions I saw the footnote from the chef, so thought I could just add the remainder of the flour to measure 2 cups, the cake came out like a Pfeffernusse,So I tried again using 1 1/2 cups of flour & they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque Tanner Levine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
The gingerbread didnt rise. I used a scoop & these were 2x the size they should be. The filling was too liquidy & I tried to save it with more powdered sugar but I didn't want to use the rest of my powdered sugar. It was some what better after sticking it in the fridge for a bit. These were a disaster & no one ate a complete cookie but me. Everyone took a few bites & didn't like them, lucky to my sweet tooth I ate the entire batch. I'm going to try another gingerbread recipe & frosting, I'll stay away from gingerbread whoopie pies. I didn't read till later to weigh the flour & it would have been an option but I'll pass, thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Great recipe! The combination of gingerbread and the cream cheese filling is delicious. I recommend using more filling per pie than you think is necessary (it can get a little lost in the fluffy cakes) and using a toothpick to keep it together while it firms up in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Stumbled upon this recipe and I'm glad I did! They are delicious. My son has requested more. He said they are "AMAZING" ! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Good but don't cook for 12 min, learned the hard way on the first batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States