Gingerbread Waffles with Hot Chocolate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
I have made this on several occasions -- but serve it with Nutmeg Sauce. They are awesome! I even had to make some so my sister could share with co-workers cause she raved about them so much! 1/2 c white sugar 1 c boiling water 1 1/2 Tbsp flour 1 1/2 Tbsp butter salt 1 tsp vanilla 1/4 tsp nutmeg combine all dry ingredients in saucepan. Add boiling water stirring constantly. cook over low heat till thick and smooth. remove from heat, add butter and vanilla. (I find I need to at least double this recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
A nice change from the ordinary, however the gingerbread texture tends to make these waffles not as light as waffles usually are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
The kids loved this when we served it as one of the dishes at our Christmas Eve brunch. It had to be the all time hit for the kids. I thinned the batter some though and it seemed to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I never would have put this combination together on my own, but, wow, it's fabulous! The chocolate sauce could have had something to make it deeper or richer perhaps--like milk, instead of water. But, these are wonderful and very festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Made this for Valentines Day as I had some spare time. The chocolate sauce is divine, and the waffles are quite nice. Just about any waffle will get hard if you leave it sit long (these ones were no exception), but these are fluffy when fresh. Perhaps not quite worth the effort, but my family guessed what the flavour was, so they do taste like Gingerbread. Note that the batter looks very heavy, but it rises a lot when cooking. I only got 5 waffles out of it; in future I will halve the chocolate sauce recipe, as it made too much even though everyone used it By the way, I used "normal" molasses, and it was fine (what is "Light" molasses?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I did not care for this--terribly dry and heavy with almost no taste to them. They fell apart as I tried to take them out of my waffle machine. My husband and I tasted a bite of the crumblies and there was absolutely nothing to redeem them. Thanks for letting me try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Was not what I expected or was hoping for. Very thick and heavy...nothing light and fluffy. Would not make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I made these this morning for my three kids (ages 1, 3, and 9) and no one made a sound during breakfast. Can I tell you how rare that is? That is how good these are! I can't wait to make them again. Despite what some people said, my waffles turned out to be very light, fluffy, moist, and full of flavor. I had no difficulty removing my waffles from my waffle maker. I am certain no chef; just a housewife, but I do not understand how anyone could have difficulty with this recipe. NOTE: Make sure you dissolve the cornstarch in a little bit of water before adding it to the sauce or you will get a few lumps. I had children pulling at my legs so I skipped that step. Then when I reheated the sauce the next morning I found a few lumps. The only change I would make, only because of person preference, is I would use milk instead of water the next time I make the chocolate sauce a little more rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Good. Not great, but good. They are quite sweet, but that's not really a complaint from my family. I used a belgium waffle maker and they turned out very light and spongy, but like another reviewer said, they were hard to get out of the waffle iron. With lifting the lid, they tore right apart into sections, but that wasn't really a problem. I'm sure I'll make these again and I will probably cut down on the chocolate sauce as it definitely made a lot. But a nice, different waffle recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
i used the recipe a few days ago for my friend's birthday party.they all loved this different,spicy waffle.i heard many compliments.i use the chocolate souce with any kind of waffle coz its great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States