Gingerbread Waffles with Hot Chocolate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I loved these, they r like having dessert for breakfast, I shared this with all my friends on facebook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These were not good at all. I gave it a 2 because the sauce was half way decent and could be used on ice cream or something. They were so dense and hardened up on your plate as you were eating them. Not a make again for us by any means.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Don't own a waffle iron (but I just had to try this recipe!), so I tried to make pancakes. But no matter what I did, it burned them. So I poured the rest of the batter into a greased loaf pan and made a gingerbread loaf out of it. Worked out much better. Not burned. I served it by cutting it up into small slices and drizzling the choc. sauce on top with a dollop of whipped topping. 5 stars for the chocolate sauce!! Tastes wonderful in a cup of coffee too! 4 1/2 - 5 stars for taste of the gingerbread. 4 stars for the fact that it didn't work out for pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
The waffles are too heavy and came out dry no matter how I played with cooking time and temperature, but the chocolate syrup was rather good. I plan to make the syrup again to serve hot over vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I made these this morning for my three kids (ages 1, 3, and 9) and no one made a sound during breakfast. Can I tell you how rare that is? That is how good these are! I can't wait to make them again. Despite what some people said, my waffles turned out to be very light, fluffy, moist, and full of flavor. I had no difficulty removing my waffles from my waffle maker. I am certain no chef; just a housewife, but I do not understand how anyone could have difficulty with this recipe. NOTE: Make sure you dissolve the cornstarch in a little bit of water before adding it to the sauce or you will get a few lumps. I had children pulling at my legs so I skipped that step. Then when I reheated the sauce the next morning I found a few lumps. The only change I would make, only because of person preference, is I would use milk instead of water the next time I make the chocolate sauce a little more rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I didn't like these at all. I love the taste of gingerbread normally but these were too heavy with the taste of molasses. The batter was heavy too. I could barely finish one because of the heaviness and sweetness, I can only imagine what they'd be like with the chocolate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I've made these a few times since 2002, just never rated them before. I do add some sugar to sweeten them to our liking, and I have never made the sauce. We usually serve ice cream over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
We made these for a special "weekend before Christmas" breakfast and loved them! The waffles turn out much more tender than a normal waffle, so you need to be very careful when removing from the waffle iron. I ended up with lots of cornstarch lumps in the sauce, so had to strain it. Also a lot of extra sauce. Next time, I plan to save back a little of the water to dissolve the cornstarch in before adding to the hot sugar water and will also half the sauce recipe, unless I have another use for the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Wow. This is like cake. With the choc. sauce, it's definitely like dessert for breakfast, which, if we're honest, is what waffles are all about. These are certainly heavier than traditional waffles - the variety is worth a try. We enjoyed adding whipped topping as another reviewer suggested. As other reviewers noted, we also had trouble with crumbling, but found that if we cooked them longer until they almost burned, they came out without trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Really good recipe. They are filling! Next time I will half the chocolate sauce. It made so much we only ate about a quarter of it. Goes good with Chai tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States