Gingerbread Waffles with Hot Chocolate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Very good recipe, taking the advice of the previous reviewers, I added about 1/4 more milk, because the recipe does turn very thick. I also halved the hot chocolate sauce recipe and used 1% milk instead of water, and it was delicious. I had no problem with sticking, though the waffles are a bit soft, just handle carefully when removing from the waffle iron so as not to tear. Also, you should NEVER used non-stick spray in a waffle iron! It breaks down the coating, just use an basting brush and brush on regular oil of your choice. FANTASTIC recipe, big hit with my kids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
We made this recipe on Christmas morning and really enjoyed it. We made a variety of sauces but also limed the chocolate sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Comox, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Very yummy... They were heavier than regular waffles, but quite tasty. My husband and my 13 month old twins loved them! They were a delightful meal for Christmas Eve! I think they might become a tradition in our family. Just one remark on making the chocolate sauce (maybe many ppl already know and did something like this)... It is important to blend the cornstarch in with some cold water or milk BEFORE mixing it into the boiling water. Otherwise it will clump up BIG TIME! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi Bottoms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I used the nutmeg sauce of another reviewer rather than the chocolate sauce (delish!) 4 stars for the recipie as written. Very good, but has some issues as addressed by other reviewers. I've played around with it & suggest the following to kick this upto a 5 star recipie: 1)The molasses makes a difference in flavor, the darker the molasses, the more intense 'molasses taste' & the less sweet it is. 2)Use buttermilk instead of plain milk. This resolves the too crisp too fast issue &, imho, improves the overall texture & flavor, plus it holds together better in my experience. 3)Use heaping measurements for the spices, & add 1/4 tsp. cloves to the mix. 4)Break out your favorite wooden spoon & mix this by hand. Just like muffins, it only needs a few stirs. 5)The batter as written is the same thickness as real gingerbread. I add water at the end, mixing just till incorporated, so it ends up on the thicker end of waffle batter consistency-usually between 1/3-1/2 c., but mix in a T at a time rather than just dumping in the whole amount. 6)Based on my real gingerbread recipie, I tried adding a splash of brandy (or brandy flavoring)-it adds a little 'je ne sais quoi' & also try 1/2 AP & 1/2 whole wheat flour if you want healthier. We have a regular waffle iron, I don't know if the iron makes a difference or not. With the changes I made the results were still filling & more dense than a standard waffle, but that's the gingerbread part & to be expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
The Chocolate Sauce was good. The gingerbread waffles were heavy and filling, but ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
These waffles were interesting. Not as good as I hoped, but something strangely appealing about them. Worth a try, but I wouldn't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Excellent! I used half whole wheat and half white flour to make them a tad healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
good taste but fell apart and stuck terribly to the waffle iron - even though it was well sprayed with cooking spray cooked the rest of the batter as pancakes on the griddle that worked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Just made these tonight. They were not very tasty and very heavy and crumbly. Not waffle texture at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I added about 1/2 a cup more milk to help thin down the batter. With my belgium waffle maker it made 4 waffles. My kids liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States