Gingerbread Waffles with Hot Chocolate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I thought they were excellent - though they were so rich I couldn't even make it through one! Mine came out very light and fluffy (belgin waffle maker) but I did find that they burned easily as well - be sure to check on them every few seconds, don't wait for the "done" light. The sauce is BY FAR the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jann Rowe
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
The 12-year old girls at my daughter's Birthday sleepover loved waking up to the smell of the chocolate sauce and enjoyed the waffles very much! I added Whipped Topping, powdered sugar & strawberries, which went VERY well with the yummy chocolate sauce - with the left over sauce we had a fruit fundue that night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jann Rowe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parrsboro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I did not care for this--terribly dry and heavy with almost no taste to them. They fell apart as I tried to take them out of my waffle machine. My husband and I tasted a bite of the crumblies and there was absolutely nothing to redeem them. Thanks for letting me try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2007
got scarfed up before I could finish cooking them. I did not make the chocolate sauce, we ate them plain and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
We liked these well enough. I did not find they got dry or hard as they cooled, although we didn't let them cool long before eating them. Perhaps they might be dry if they are overmixed with an electric mixer. I mixed with a fork and left small lumps. I though these were moist and fluffy inside. I did find them hard to remove from the waffle iron in one piece, but presentation wasn't important to me. I also found these to burn easily. I set my doneness light for lowest and burned one, so then I made certain to check them before the done light came on and they were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEKAE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I never would have put this combination together on my own, but, wow, it's fabulous! The chocolate sauce could have had something to make it deeper or richer perhaps--like milk, instead of water. But, these are wonderful and very festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
i used the recipe a few days ago for my friend's birthday party.they all loved this different,spicy waffle.i heard many compliments.i use the chocolate souce with any kind of waffle coz its great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Was not what I expected or was hoping for. Very thick and heavy...nothing light and fluffy. Would not make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Good. Not great, but good. They are quite sweet, but that's not really a complaint from my family. I used a belgium waffle maker and they turned out very light and spongy, but like another reviewer said, they were hard to get out of the waffle iron. With lifting the lid, they tore right apart into sections, but that wasn't really a problem. I'm sure I'll make these again and I will probably cut down on the chocolate sauce as it definitely made a lot. But a nice, different waffle recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
I was looking for a chocolate sauce recipe for plain chocolate cake when we had unexpected company drop by and this one looked quick and easy. It was SO YUMMY! Two thumbs up and five stars all the way! The choco-holic we served this too called and asked if we send him some more. It wasn't overly sweet, just the right amount of sugar. I'm looking forward to trying the waffles this week-end. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarendon, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States