Gingerbread-Pear Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Heavenly! I did have to use a gluten free flour blend since I baked these for a gluten-free friend but they turned out AMAZING! The combination if gingerbread and pear is divine. I'll make these again and again throughout the holiday season--GF and regular!! Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I love, love, love these muffins! They are so good with a cup of hot chocolate on a cold morning. They are moist and sweet, but not too sweet. They are the perfect sweetness. The combination of spices are perfect. I don't eat eggs, so I used my regular egg-substitute, which is one Tablespoon flax seed (ground) mixed with three Tablespoons of water for each egg. I didn't have any buttermilk and didn't feel like running to the store at 7:00 a.m., so I used almond milk instead. I didn't have enough molasses to make 3/4 cup, so I used what I had, which was 1/2 cup. And the only other thing I changed was I used two pears instead of one because I had two left and wanted to use them both before they got too ripe and had to throw them away. (I hate to waste food.) I was a little nervous that maybe both pears would be too much, but it was just right. Thank you for this wonderful recipe. I will be making these muffins often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
These rose well, got 9 muffins out of it, did not peel pears, so you wld. get a bit of a crunch, but i like the feel of the peel. Left out sugar, as pears make it sweet enough, wld. add more spice then what they call for as a bit bland, but all in all a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I love these muffins. I have a pear tree and make these every year when I have bunches to use up. I usually add more than 1 pear, probably 2 and pecans also. Recipe takes no time at all to whip up and they always come out nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gingabebe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Wow, these were so good. I didn't have wheat pastry flour but used 1/2 whole wheat & 1/2 cake, also two small pears because one didn't seem to be enough. A wonderful combination of spices that's not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockerChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Made with whole wheat flour, egg whites, skim milk with lemon juice for buttermilk, applesauce for oil, and date sugar for sugar. Topped with raw sugar and ezekiel cereal for crunch. Great, even with modifications! Made as mini muffins, and took 15 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Really delicious, spicy, and moist. I was trying to use up an over-ripe pear and a jar of molasses. What a serendipitous recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
These were a great treat! The recipe is going in our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
So good, moist and gingery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Moist and easy. I made some modifications (subbing some oatmeal for part of the flour, using corn flour, and baking in small loaf pans), so it was necessary to bake a little longer, but still, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollywoodartchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States