Gingerbread Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cheepy
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This is a quick & delicious cake that can be personalized endlessly to suit anyone's taste. I made it as written except for replacing the water with pear juice. It made the whole house smell like Christmas & I was even inspired to take a pic which I'll post when I'm not having such a lazy day:o) Thanks Mallinda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This recipe was super easy and delicious. The pears were an excellent compliment to the gingerbread. My kids really gobbled this cake up. As an extra bonus, the house smelled great while it was baking. Thank you, Mallinda, for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I loved this recipe! It was SO easy and delicious. I chopped the pecans so it didn't look as beautiful as Cheepchick's photo, but it disappeared so quickly, no one even noticed. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe! Thanks Mallinda!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griffin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Mallinda, this was great! That caramel was genius! My family loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Well, this just throws off the ole diet!! Delicious cake, Mallinda!! I had to use Spice Cake instead of Gingerbread as it appeared the grocer was out of it and I took Cheepchick's suggestion of replacing some of the water for pear juice. That topping is sinfully delicious - I could eat the whole thing in one sitting, I am sure! Thanks Mallinda, this one was nice and easy even for a novice baker like myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Super quick and easy to put together. Actually my fourteen year old did it. We thought it came out really bland. I used a Betty Crocker Mix. My in-laws loved it. I thought it would have much stronger gingerbread taste. So I am blaming the it on the brand of mix I used. Update: Made again for the in-laws since they liked it so much. I used Trader Joe's gingerbread cake mix and added some crystalized ginger, about 2 tablespoons. It was much better. But I tried to substitute the oil for applesauce and it was a little rubbery. Topped with a whiskey carmel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aly D
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I'm giving this 5 stars because it was the hit of my dessert buffet for Christmas. However, I had to make a few mods. Couldn't find gingerbread cake mix, so I used the spice cake as another user suggested. I made it the day before serving which probably wasn't a great idea since the topping soaked into the cake and made it soggy. To cover that mess up, I made another batch of the syrup-sugar-butter mixture and thickened it with cornstarch, heated it and poured it over the whole thing before serving. It was definitely the hit of the night... Highly recommend the additional thickened topping even if yours comes out great to start with. That put it over the top. Thanks for the recipe. I will probably make again, but will likely thicken the original sauce as well. Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANE MN
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I didn't have pears, so I sliced an apple and used that. It was very good. I would like if it had been gooier caramel top. And would use apple or pear juice instead of water next time in the cake. But very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANE MN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
tasted wonderful but looked awful! I'll make it again, but not for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Good holiday flavor. My husband and I both agreed that it needed more pears. Next time, I'm planning to cover the entire bottom on the pan with the pear slices. I think that will make it look prettier too. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States