Gingerbread Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This cake was absolutely delicious! It didn't take to long to make it, and it was good. I wanted spice cake, but we found this recipe instead and I am glad we did. It was a great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I was very dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
The Cake turned out OK. I should have used the pan specified in the directions. The cake needs to be eaten within a few days of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by catcassetta
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This cake was very simple to make and was a hit! A dollop of cool whip is the perfect finish. The only thing I did differently was to use the juice from the can (*lite pears = pear JUICE, not syrup) as part of the water called for in the cake mix. Thanks for sharing this recipe, it's been saved to my recipe box :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catcassetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
We loved this! I made a couple of little changes: I toasted my pecan halves in the toaster oven with a little butter spray, salt and sugar b/c I like the flavor and texture of toasted nuts the best when they are in cakes. Also, I doubled the pears and doubled the "syrup" concoction. This turned out beautifully - such a pretty cake, and not too sweet. Served with a dollop of whipped cream - it was a hit this Christmas! I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
As other reviewers said, it was soggy, but as it cooled completely it firmed up. I think it was very nice, we topped with whipped cream, not too sweet. I think it could have stood a bit more zang but is a good middle of the road flavor to please the masses. It does look very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delran, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Didnt like it at all! Would not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayka
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sek_gillis
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Yum! It's so pretty and tastes great! I made mine in a 9" iron skillet, like I do my pineapple upside down cakes. It came out so pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sek_gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very good cake, and it looked nice. Wish I had used spice cake instead of gingerbread cake, and should have used more pears. I will make this again with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnC123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This cake was delicious. I made a couple modifications, I used spice cake instead of gingerbread, because I already had the spice mix. For some reason I couldn't find my cake pan, so I used a 9x13 pyrex dish. I had to double the pears because of the size and cooked the cake 10 minutes longer. It came out perfectly. My first upside down cake! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmzorick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States