Gingerbread Pear Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cheepy
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This is a quick & delicious cake that can be personalized endlessly to suit anyone's taste. I made it as written except for replacing the water with pear juice. It made the whole house smell like Christmas & I was even inspired to take a pic which I'll post when I'm not having such a lazy day:o) Thanks Mallinda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This recipe was super easy and delicious. The pears were an excellent compliment to the gingerbread. My kids really gobbled this cake up. As an extra bonus, the house smelled great while it was baking. Thank you, Mallinda, for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Mallinda, this was great! That caramel was genius! My family loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I loved this recipe! It was SO easy and delicious. I chopped the pecans so it didn't look as beautiful as Cheepchick's photo, but it disappeared so quickly, no one even noticed. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe! Thanks Mallinda!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griffin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aly D
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I'm giving this 5 stars because it was the hit of my dessert buffet for Christmas. However, I had to make a few mods. Couldn't find gingerbread cake mix, so I used the spice cake as another user suggested. I made it the day before serving which probably wasn't a great idea since the topping soaked into the cake and made it soggy. To cover that mess up, I made another batch of the syrup-sugar-butter mixture and thickened it with cornstarch, heated it and poured it over the whole thing before serving. It was definitely the hit of the night... Highly recommend the additional thickened topping even if yours comes out great to start with. That put it over the top. Thanks for the recipe. I will probably make again, but will likely thicken the original sauce as well. Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Mal, I absolutely love this recipe. So easy yet impressive. Thanks, my friend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Wow! I made this for a dinner party and was told that I had outdone myself. Really great cake for the holidays. I didn't have corn syrup so I used a little bit of honey. I also used 2 cans of pears instead of one. I decided not to use a cake mix and instead made the gingerbread cake using an old fashioned gingerbread cake recipe found elsewhere on this site. Put some minced ginger in the cake for some added zing and served with the option of whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This cake will make you look like a superstar chef; Nobody needs to know how easy it is! I was trying to use some left over Christmas pantry ingredients and found this recipe. I'm almost sad that only my husband and I got to enjoy it, not a huge crowd. It was great, not too sweet but with a definite holiday flair. I made a few changes, but nothing major. First, I sliced the pairs to about 1/4 inch thickness and sauteed them in a skillet with some butter, adding the brown sugar and nuts so they'd be nice and crunchy. I arranged the slices covering the bottom of the dish. My cake was done after 35 minutes, maybe because the fruit was already hot, not sure really. I served it with some whipped cream. It'll definitely be an addition to my next Christmas dessert table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacy Gillis
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Made this for my book club this evening. It was liked by everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Well, this just throws off the ole diet!! Delicious cake, Mallinda!! I had to use Spice Cake instead of Gingerbread as it appeared the grocer was out of it and I took Cheepchick's suggestion of replacing some of the water for pear juice. That topping is sinfully delicious - I could eat the whole thing in one sitting, I am sure! Thanks Mallinda, this one was nice and easy even for a novice baker like myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States